Washington Rental Laws

Written on February 21, 2014 by , updated on July 24, 2017

Flag of WashingtonThis article summarizes some key Washington Landlord-Tenant laws applicable to residential rental units.

The Official State Statutes and other reputable municipal sources were used to research this information. All sources are cited appropriately.

With that said, landlord-tenant laws are always changing and you have a responsibility to perform your own research when applying the laws to your unique situation.

If you have a legal question or concern, I only recommend contacting a licensed attorney referral service that is operated by the state bar association.

Official Rules and Regulations

Security Deposit:

  • Security Deposit Maximum: No Statute
  • Deadline for Returning Security Deposit: 21 days (RCW §§ 59.18.280)
  • Security Deposit Interest: Unless otherwise agreed in writing, the landlord shall be entitled to receipt of interest paid on such trust account deposits. (RCW §§ 59.18.270)
  • Separate Security Deposit Bank Account: Required (RCW §§ 59.18.270)
  • Non-refundable Fees: Allowed, but they must not be part of the security deposit, and must be clearly designated as a “non-refundable fee” in a written lease agreement. (RCW §§ 59.18.285)
  • Pet Deposits and Additional Fees: Allowed (RCW §§ 59.18.285)
  • Require Written/Signed Move-In Checklist: No deposit may be collected by a landlord unless the rental agreement is in writing and a written checklist or statement specifically describing the condition and cleanliness of or existing damages to the premises and furnishings, including, but not limited to, walls, floors, countertops, carpets, drapes, furniture, and appliances, is provided by the landlord to the tenant at the commencement of the tenancy. The checklist or statement shall be signed and dated by the landlord and the tenant, and the tenant shall be provided with a copy of the signed checklist or statement. (RCW §§ 59.18.260)
  • Require Itemized List of Damages and Charges: Yes (RCW §§ 59.18.280)
  • Record Keeping of Deposit Withholdings: No Statute
  • Receipt of Deposit: Yes, the landlord shall provide the tenant with a written receipt for the deposit and shall provide written notice of the name and address and location of the depository and any subsequent change thereof. (RCW §§ 59.18.270)
  • Failure to Comply: If the landlord collects a deposit without providing a written checklist at the commencement of the tenancy, the landlord is liable to the tenant for the amount of the deposit, and the prevailing party may recover court costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees. (RCW §§ 59.18.260)

Lease, Rent & Fees:

  • When Rent Is Due: No Statute
  • Rent Increase Notice: 30-day written notice for month-to-month leases. (RCW §§ 59.18.140)
  • Rent Receipt: A landlord shall provide a receipt for any payment made by a tenant in the form of cash and upon the request of a tenant, a written receipt for any payments made in a form other than cash. (RCW §§ 59.18.063)
  • Rent Grace Period: No Statute
  • Late Fees: No Statute
  • Prepaid Rent: No Statute
  • Returned Check Fees: Allowed, but must not exceed forty dollars or the face amount of the check, whichever is less. I recommend using Cozy to prevent bounced checks. (RCW §§ 62A.3-515)
  • Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): Yes, but tenant must also notify government authorities and must deposit the withheld rent into an escrow account. (RCW §§ 59.18.115)
  • Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: Yes
    • If the repair requires a licensed professional, the tenant must provide the landlord with an estimate before the work is performed and the cost of the repair must not exceed two month’s rent. (RCW §§ 59.18.100)
    • If the repair does not require a licensed professional, the tenant may repair the defective condition in a workmanlike manner and the cost of the repair must not exceed one month’s rent. The total costs of repairs deducted in any twelve-month period under this subsection shall not exceed one month’s rent. (RCW §§ 59.18.100(3))
  • Landlord Allowed to Recover Court and Attorney Fees: Yes (RCW §§ 59.18.280, 59.18.290)
  • Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages to Lessee, including an Attempt to Rerent: Yes (RCW §§ 59.18.310)
  • Abandonment: Landlord can store and eventually sell the tenant’s personal property to compensate for damage. Landlord must follow specific instructions found in RCW §§ 59.18.310(b).

Notices and Entry:

  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Fixed End Date in Lease: No notice is needed as the lease simply expires. (RCW §§ 59.04.030)
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Month-to-Month Lease (or other periodic term): 20 days or more from lease expiration. Less than 20 days notice is allowed for any tenant who is a member of the armed forces and receives deployment orders. (RCW §§ 59.18.200(1a-b))
  • Termination of Unapproved Tenancy (Squatters): Unapproved tenant is liable for rent for the time he/she occupied the dwelling and must turnover the premise immediately at the demand of the owner. (RCW §§ 59.04.050)
  • Notice of Date/Time of Move-Out Inspection: No Statute
  • Notice of Termination of All Other Leases for Nonpayment: 3 days (RCW §§ 59.12.030(3)
  • Termination for Lease Violation: 10 days (RCW §§ 59.12.030(4)), 3 days for illegal or nuisance activity. (RCW §§ 59.12.030(5))
  • Required Notice before Entry: Two days (RCW §§ 59.18.150(6))
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs (non-emergency): Yes (RCW §§ 59.18.150(6))
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Showings: Yes, only one day’s notice is required. (RCW §§ 59.18.150(6))
  • Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes (RCW §§ 59.18.150(5))
  • Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: No Statute
  • Notice to Tenants for Pesticide Use: No Statute
  • Lockouts Allowed: No (RCW §§ 59.18.290) (pdf)
  • Utility Shut-offs Allowed: No. Landlord may be obligated to pay actual damages plus $100 per day of disrupted service plus court/attorney costs. (RCW §§ 59.18.300)

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes:

  • Official Duties of Landlord: For a detailed summary, read RCW §§ 59.18.060.
  • Official Duties of Tenant: For a detailed summary, read RCW §§ 59.18.130.
  • Name and Addresses: The landlord must designate to the tenant the name and address of the person who is the landlord by a statement on the rental agreement or by a notice conspicuously posted on the premises. (RCW §§ 59.18.060)
  • Copy of the Lease: For written rental agreements, the landlord shall provide an executed copy to each tenant who signs the rental agreement. The tenant may request one free replacement copy during the tenancy. (RCW §§ 59.18.065)
  • Lead Disclosure: Landlords must disclose all known lead paint hazards. Landlords must also provide tenants, as an attachment to a written lease, with an information pamphlet on Lead-based paint hazards.
  • Adverse Action Notice: If rejecting an applicant during the screening process, the landlord must give notice using the template found in RCW §§ 59.18.257.
  • Domestic Violence Situations:
    • Proof of Status: Landlord is entitled to verify claim of Domestic Violence status. Tenant must complete the form found in RCW §§ 59.18.575(1b).
    • Termination of Lease: A tenant is allowed to terminate a lease with proof of Domestic Violence status, however the request to terminate must happen within 90 days from the incident date. (RCW §§ 59.18.575(1b))
    • Landlord Cannot Terminate Lease: A landlord may not terminate a tenancy, fail to renew a tenancy, or refuse to enter into a rental agreement based on the tenant’s or applicant’s or a household member’s status as a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking. (RCW §§ 59.18.580)
    • Landlord Cannot Fail to Renew: A landlord may not terminate a tenancy, fail to renew a tenancy, or refuse to enter into a rental agreement based on the tenant’s or applicant’s or a household member’s status as a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking, or based on the tenant or applicant having terminated a rental agreement under RCW 59.18.575. (RCW §§ 59.18.580)
    • Responsibility of Rent: Depending on the situation, the tenant may still be liable for the rent for the month in which he or she terminated the rental agreement. Read RCW §§ 59.18.575(2) and RCW §§ 59.18.575(3) for clarification.
    • Locks: Tenant is allowed to add locks to the dwelling at the tenant’s expense. (RCW §§ 59.18.575(4)59.18.585)
  • Retaliation: Landlord must not terminate or refuse to renew a lease to a tenant who has filed an official complaint to a Government Authority or has exercised his or her legal rights and remedies in the last 90 days. (RCW §§ 59.18.24059.18.250)
  • City of Seattle: Landlords with units in Seattle must include The Summary of Washington State and City of Seattle Landlord/Tenant Regulations as addendums to the lease.

Court Related:

Business Licenses:

  • Business License Required: No state-wide statute, but local cities and counties may have regulations and requirements.  Check with your local governing authority.
  • Seattle Rental Registration: Rental properties in Seattle must be registered with the Department of Planning and Development. (source) (SMC §§ 22.214)

Overview Video

This video reviews some of the most common landlord-tenant laws in Washington. The Northwest Justice Project has produced multiple videos on the topic.

Get our free newsletter

Join 200,000+ landlords

  • ​Tips to increase income
  • Time-saving techniques
  • ​Powerful tools & resources
Topics:
  Laws & Regulations

397 CommentsLeave a Comment

  • Lucas

    I think that my lease will be up in march 2016, and I am looking into moving into the trailer next door to me. now am I still responsible for the rent of my current place even with giving proper notice to the landlord after march? how long are they legally able to make me pay rent for a space I no longer live in?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Lucas,

      A tenant is always response for the rent on a lease until it naturally ends, or the landlord agrees to terminate it. The fact that a tenant might move out early doesn’t change the rent responsibility.

      If your lease ends on March 31, then you either have to pay rent there, or get your landlord to let you out of it early. If you decide to move in to another place, before March 31, then you could get stuck paying double rent – but that’s your choice.

  • Francine I McGee

    I am a home owner resident and a Washington State COPES caregiver for a close friend who had lived with me for years. We have no problems. I set her rent submit it to the state, etc…

    We let a friend stay in an extra room when he was evicted to help him get SSI. Not charging rent. She’s in the hospital and they are sending her to small rehab, she can’t return until he leaves because she said she is uncomfortable with him after an incident 2 days b4 health incident, where he pushed me into a wall when I took my car keys, said I would no longer contribute to him financially, and if he yelled at our threatened me I would call the police. I did, no relationship, not domestic I need to evict. Of course he is refusing to leave, where start?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Francine,

      The best place to start is to research the eviction laws in your county, not the state. If that’s not possible, then a lawyer would be your best ally in this case.

  • Cheryl Creasey

    My landlord is terminating my pet agreement under Rcw 59.12.030 because my pet had some peeing problems in my hallway. I was given permission to remove t he carpet. I offered to replace it but was told I would still be required to pay for new carpet upon moving out so I decided not to replace the carpet and live without carpeting (it’s a concrete wall anyways). After the unit was randomly inspected by the City under RRIO the apt decided to terminate my pet agreement.
    When the apt charges me for new carpet am I responsible for 100% of the cost when 1) the carpet was already 2-3 years old when I moved in 2) was damaged by washing machine flooding 3) my 4.5 years of wear and tear and 4) my cats urine problem?

  • kimm forster

    Im subletting a eoom un a house… how much notife does the landlord have to provide me if he wants me to move… i already got a 3 day pay or vacate im behind in rent

  • Pamela

    I have rented out a room in my house. The tenant’s lease expires on January 31. 2015. She wants me to write her a six month lease renewal. I prefer to have her move out and have a new tenant move in who will sign a one year’s lease. Am I required to offer a six month lease to my current tenant whose one year’s lease expires in two months?

  • Sabrina

    November rent partial payment paid, but I still have a remaining balance for November plus utilities. My landlord posted a 3 day notice with the balance owed for November. I am supposed to vacate my home by December 29th so he can move in but I paid last month’s rent when I moved in plus a security deposit. I am using my last month’s rent on hand since December is my final month. He stated that he is filing my 3 day notice with the courts today (friday) and I will get a notice by the courts on Monday and a sheriff will be here Monday as well. Even though he accepted partial payment for November, but have last month’s rent on hand, can he legally expect me to vacate by Dec. 29th if a 3 day notice is all I received?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Sabrina

      If you’re not paid in full, then the lease can be terminated with a 3 day notice. If you don’t pay or leave within 3 days, he can go to the courts, and the sheriff will remove you by force as soon as they get around to it. So, it’s possible you might be forced to leave before Dec 29th, simply because you didn’t pay Nov’s rent in full (even if he accepted partial payment).

      With that said, a Judge might rule differently. I’m certainly not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • Vanessa Ragan

    I’m renting a house and landlord put it up for sale just told us that some people are coming by to look at it and we have to leave for a couple hours today can he force us to leave and if the house does sell how long do we have till I have to move out

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Vanessa,

      Generally not. But it would be nice if you could vacate. It’s just awkward for everyone, otherwise.

      Also, generally speaking, a fixed-term lease does not terminate when a house is a sold. The lease just transfers to the new owner, and the new owner becomes the new landlord. That is, unless your your lease specifically says the lease terminates upon the sale of the property.

      If you don’t a have a fixed-term lease, and are only a month-to-month tenant, then only 20 days notice is required to terminate, based on RCW §§ 59.18.200(1a-b). Good luck to you. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • Sarah Andrews

    We are new landlords, and rented to a friend. We never did an official walk through, but have documented clearly over $12k of damage our tenants did to our home via their FB posts and messages. They are asking for their full deposit, because they didn’t sign the walk through, which is legally required by law. However, there is so much damage and our lease states under which conditions they will be penalized financially. Do judges ever have leniency on landlords who didn’t know the law? We are confident we will prove the damages are caused by them in court, but we are concerned about not giving them back their deposit. Our lawyer isn’t sure if there is a loophole here…

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Sarah,

      They don’t have to sign the final walk-through document as long as you can prove that they did the damage. They don’t have to “agree” to the deposit withholding. In fact, very few tenants will ever agree with a withholding.

      The best way to prove the damage is to compare the damage to their initial move-in inspection form – showing the difference in condition (with pictures too). If a judge were to ask you how you came up with $12k in damages, would you be able to show receipts or estimate from licensed contractors? I don’t understand how you came up with $12k based on FB photos – that wouldn’t be enough info to come up with a dollar amount.

      I don’t know why you would have to give back their deposit if you are withholding it for actual damages. As long as you have proof of the damages, with receipts or estimates, you should just be able to send them an itemized list of all the withholdings, plus an invoice for all the extra damages. If they don’t pay, take them to court and try to get a judgement.

      Good luck to you. I hope this helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • Valorie

    we are wating to move into another rental prperty but we are in a lease. The lease is up March 15 and we are supposed to move in February 1. our power bill is really high and our house is very cold. We have individual baseboard type heating running 24-7. Can we break the lease based on poor insulation? Also we paid a last months rent and rent is now due for this month. Being that we planned on giving a 20-day notice and paid last months rent, are we still responsible for this minths rent?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Valorie,

      Usually, “poor insulation” isn’t a big enough issue to break a lease since it can be mitigated with extra heat. But rather, its something the landlord should just fix.

      Generally speaking, it takes a lot to break a lease. It’s better just to ask permission and then work out a deal, rather than try to finds some issue with the place to cover the real reason why your moving.

  • Yasmin

    I am renting out some apartments without a lease/contract. I want to create a lease/contract now and have my tenants sign. am i allowed to do this? Also, what if a tenant that has had month of renting but refuses to sign my new lease/contract?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Yasmin,

      Sure! If your current tenants are month-to-month, then you just have to give them proper notice that the current arrangement is ending, and that in order to stay, they need to sign a fixed lease.

      If they refuse to sign the new lease, then their old monthly agreement will expire, and they will have to move out.

      I hope that makes sense. The trick here is to stick up for yourself but at the same time, try to work with the good tenants. If the “bad” tenants threaten to leave, let them.

  • SpiritALIVE

    A friend rents a room in my home and we both share the room. We are breaking up and there is a lease agreement but it is only signed by one of the owners of the home. The lease was signed without the other owner knowing. Is this a valid lease?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Spirit,

      Just because both owners didn’t sign the lease doesn’t mean it’s invalid. As long as the lessor is indeed an owner, it shouldn’t matter that the other didn’t sign it. But if you want to be sure, you should talk to a lawyer (which I am not).

  • Margie Vieira

    I volunteer for an agency that helps people with rent, utilities, etc. Yesterday a volunteer went to an apartment complex in Kent, WA to visit a client and then to management to pay the utilities portion of the rent. The client had a family member who was paying her utilities direct deposit from an account. The family member recently passed away and our client was told there were funds in the account that she was to use, but unknown to her someone closed the account.The apartment filed for the direct deposit and no funds were available… 1 NSF fee…they repeated the process NINE TIMES…without letting our client know. Her utilities bill went from a manageable amount of 200 something to over One Thousand. Is this legal?

    • Lucas Hall

      HI Margie,

      It does sound extreme, and unfair. Who is charing the NSF fees – the bank or the management company? If it’s the management company, then I suggest trying to reason with them. They created the mess, so they should forgive some of the fees. Alternatively, she could talk to a local legal counselor or attorney (which I am not) – who are really the ones who can give legal advice and tell you if something is “legal”. Good luck to you.

  • Traci

    I am currently living in bellingham, WA on my landlords property. She is not a registered renter. I did not sign a lease on move in, its month to month space. The space is detached from the house by 20 ft, no weather proofing, no proper heating, no running water, no bathroom, no kitchen, the electricity is bad, she has entered my space without notifying me in the past and is now evicting me due to my concerns for my health and safety, she believes they aren’t really issues. I have to go in the house to do dishes, use bathroom, shower, laundry etc. I avoid it as much as possible due to her attitude but also there is mold, her appliances don’t work properly, there are incomplete parts to the house, unclean. .. other than leave what can I do

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Traci,

      You could talk to a lawyer, or a free legal aid counselor and get some legal advice. But if the unit you live in is as bad as you say, I doubt that its even a place suited for living. It sounds like a small shed. Even if you brought this up legally, if the place does not have an occupancy permit, then you wouldn’t be allowed to stay anyway.

  • Ted V

    Hello,

    Are landlords required to notify their tenants of an outstanding balance from month to month? I had a roommate who bounced a check back in July, and since he has moved out we have been accruing a large balance due to the late fees. There doesn’t seem to be any way to check my balance unless I contact management directly, and she just gave us our “3-days or Vacate” notice. Is there a law stating that she should be notifying us of our debts?

    Thank you

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Ted,

      Generally speaking, a landlord would notify a tenant of a balance, but I doubt it’s any sort of legal requirement – simply because the tenant should be able to do the math too. If there are extra fees that are getting added, then yes, the landlord needs to disclose those. It’s a shame that there are still landlords or managers out there that don’t have an online portal for tenants to check their balances. If they would just embrace technology, it would save you a lot of grief.

  • Alice Pike

    Thank you for such a great outline of WA state rental laws. Q: A 20-days termination notice is required by law on month-to-month tenancies in my state. If I put a 60-day notice requirement in my lease instead which one will prevail? Can i enforce the 60-day termination notice since it is in my contract or if tenant goes through the trouble he/she can prove that only 20-days are required? Thank you

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Alice,

      The statutes usually act as a “minimum”, and don’t prevent someone from agreeing to more time in a lease. I can’t speak specifically to your situation, but I can say that I also require 60 days notice even though my state only requires 30 days.

      I hope that helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • Daniel Bunkovsky

    Hi I am about to foster 3 children all under the age of 10. I informed my landloard of my intentions. She told me because we are listed as three tenents in a 4 bedroom duplex that she will have to raise my rent by $250 and write a new lease agreement before my old one is even done. I want to know can she legaly do this? What if we were to have a baby of our own, would she still raise our rent then? I wouldn’t think so. Can someone give me some insight to this please?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Daniel,

      I don’t think it’s a matter of legality here. It’s simply the fact that you are trying to change to occupancy amount on your lease. As with any lease modification, both parties are allowed to negotiate new terms and if they are agreed to by both parties, then an addendum or new lease can be signed.

      Generally speaking, minors are not considered lessees, but each minor still counts towards the occupancy number. This is because most counties count the “# of people”, not “# of adults”. The occupancy rules vary from county to county, but the most common thing I’ve seen is “2 people per bedroom”. Further, your lease might (probably) limit the # of people or limits it to the # you entered with. So, if you want to change it, the landlords gets an opportunity to change the terms too.

      Does that make sense?

      I hope that helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

      • Daniel Bunkovsky

        This makes a little sense. I understand that the occupants have changed from what is on the lease but my other question is would the land lord still have raised the rent if we were to have more children of our own cuz my girlfriend has a child of her own whom I consider mine too and we are trying for our own? But understanding that these are not our kids it still makes no sense that she would raise the rent for relatives under the age of 10 yo

  • Josh

    OK here goes I moved into a unit paid deposit for pet,a not refundable clean,and security i also paid a extra 1000 so my rent would be cheaper for the year on top of that I moved in the middle of month so prorated for the half month well in my lease agreement it also states were all the deposit charges are to the penny of all that I would have to bring upon move in so to add is a FULL first months rent witch I paid along with every thing else so after the first 15 days comes by my landlord informed me don’t forget to pay rent for June mind you this is a day or two before the 1st I said thought I paid that he says no talk to my girl about it and just thought maybe it was last months rent held 2 1/2 years later and I was told no and we

  • Josh

    no record of it so when I looked at the ledger and what they had for payment rec found I had one for the amount I was missing brought it up to them then they said i would have to get proof they cashed it I did 45 day process my I add then was told that it was a typo on there end also even though it says what I needed pay it clearly say first FULL months rent they say ohh well its was different in your case cause u paid more up front so you would not have to pay that too my question is why not state that there instead of handwriting and dating for day of move in as such

  • Matt

    I live in an apartment on the bottom floor. In Jan we had a leak and it created mold in the wall between the kitchen and bathroom. It took one month to get the wall dried, cleaned and closed. Now two months later original spot is not painted yet and there is a new leak in the same wall. This time they have removed a 2 foot by 8 foot section of the wall and have to have two commercial fans in the apartment for two weeks again with mold exposed on the walls. A plumbing company said the pipes were installed wrong when it was built. The property manager is not offering any compensation or anything for the issues. What steps can I take to get compensation? Or what steps can I take to do anything.

  • Dawn

    Lucas
    I have lived in my house for three years and have always had a lease .my lease ends march 31st 2016.when my landlord came to fix the disposal in Feb. he mentioned that he might be selling the place well long story short he is owner contracting the sell of the house and said he was not going to renew the lease and that on April 1 the new owners take over the payments and we need to be out on the 31 st ugg we have franticly been looking for a new place and we found one but it wont be ready until April 16th can he make us leave on the 31st?

  • BJ

    My friends mother had a sever stroke last week and has had to be moved into assisted care. She has two months left on her lease at the apartment complex she lives in. They are aware of the medical issue and have already rented the apartment for March 1st but they are telling my friend that she still has to pay a $2800 lease cancellation. Do you know if this is correct? This is in Washington State and I haven’t been able to find anything on this subject.

  • Brenda Orr

    Hi! I have been living in this apartment 2 years going into my 3rd year April 1st. Back on June 20,2015 I was hospitalized and had emergency surgery. I had in home care for almost 3 months til my insurance (thru work) ran out. Since then my younger sister comes here daily (sometimes more than once) to check in and help with things I still am unable to do. I have been contacted several (almost excessive) times by the manager if she was living with me cause she is here every day. I have explained the situation to her and explained to her why she’s here so much. My manager gave me papers to fill out to add her in my lease because she’s “here too much”! I explained that is unnecessary for her to be as she’s NOT living here. Is that legal??

  • Don

    Question regarding additional move out charges (Seattle WA):

    The land lord mailed a signed itemized list of charges as part of the move out inspection within the 14 days of vacancy as per the law.

    However later the land lord is coming back (within the 14 days of vacancy) with another charge (carpet stain) above and beyond the initial list of charges previously communicated.

    Is the additional charge allowable given the land lord already provided an itemized list signed and mailed by the land lord? Should I not be held to the original itemized list and no more?

    My lease does not have a clause that mentions they can add another charge after they provided the move out inspection and list of charges

  • Susan

    I have a tenant that is very nasty verbaly. She has slammed doors in our face, she has been rude to hired electric contractors, etc. It started when she said she smelled rubber burning. My husband, who is certified in electricity immediately ran down there. It was quickly determined that the 220 had too much draw from pull of her dryer, we asked her not to use and we immediately contacted an electrl service . (Mainly because the suggestion that it was her dryer made her rude and nasty) her dryer is 37 yrs old. After $6000 upgrade she has deducted 3 days rent from her March rent payment for inconvenience.. im serving a 3 day pay or quit notice but does that mean I can’t cash the ck for 27 days of march? We are great landlords, we JUMP!

  • linda

    My landlord is making me pay for repairs to a window that was damaged by a neighbor child. This child was not a guest and was not on the property when the she broke the window with a rock. Am I legally responsible to pay for the repairs? Because I am under the impression that Under the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act I am not responsible for storm, fire or vandal.
    If I am not, what should I say to my landlord to get her to stop bothering me about paying?

    Thank you

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available. Be short, sweet and to the point.