A successful in-person training entitled: Essential Tips for Being a Successful Landlord in Portland, Oregon
A Q&A discussion of the top landlord-tenant issues, with attorney Mark L. Busch, P.C.
Common Portland Laws
- Heating Requirements: Unit must be able to reach 68 degrees
- Basements & Attics: Need permits to occupy and two exits for each bedroom
- Smoke Detectors: Req. in each bedroom, CO detectors within 15 ft of bedroom
- Nuisance Fines: Excessive trash, noise, weeds, etc.
Common Oregon Rental Laws
- Security Deposit Maximum: No Statute
- Time Limit for Returning the Deposit: Must be delivered within 31 days after move-out & lease termination; w/ itemized receipts (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.300 (13))
- Penalty for Wrongful Withholding: Up to 2x amount wrongfully withheld (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.300 (16))
- Are Non-Refundable Fees Allowed: No (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.302)
- Rent Grace Period: 4 days (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.260 (1))
- Limits on Late Fees: A “reasonable” one-time fee is allowed; w/ daily fee no more than 6% of fee, OR 5% of rent every 5 days after the 5th. (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.260 (1)(2))
- Required Notice to Enter: 24 Hours (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.322)
- Required Notice to Quit for Non-Payment: Cure or Quit within 144 hours after 5 days, 72 hours after 8 days (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.394 (2))
- Required Notice to Quit for Violation: Cure or Quit within 30 days, 10 if pre-offender in last 6 months (Or. Rev. Stat. § 90.392)
- Protected Classes:
- Oregon: Marital Status, Sexual Orientation, Source of Income.
- PDX: includes Age
Learn More: Oregon Landlord-Tenant Laws
Portland Rent Collection
Cozy.co makes it easy for portland landlords to collect rent from anywhere and never have to deal with paper checks again.
Have multiple tenants? No problem. We’ll deposit one clean payment into your account every month.