Kentucky Rental Laws

Written on April 18, 2014 by , updated on November 1, 2017

flag-of-kentuckyThis article summarizes some key Kentucky Landlord-Tenant Laws applicable to residential rental units.

The Official State Statutes and other reputable municipal sources were used to research this information. All sources are cited appropriately.

With that said, landlord-tenant laws are always changing, and may even vary from county to county. You have a responsibility to perform your own research and cautiously apply the laws to your unique situation.

If you have a legal question or concern, I only recommend contacting a licensed attorney referral service that is operated by the Kentucky State Bar. This article is not intended to be exhaustive or a substitute for qualified legal advice.

Official Rules and Regulations

Security Deposit:

  • Security Deposit Maximum: No Statute
  • Deadline for Returning Security Deposit: 30 days for unpaid rent. (KRS § 383.580(6)) 60 days from date of notification if tenant does not file a claim/dispute. (KRS § 383.580(7))
  • Nonrefundable Deposits: No Statute
  • Security Deposit Interest: No Statute
  • Separate Security Deposit Bank Account: Required. Tenants shall be informed of the location of the separate account and the account number. (KRS § 383.580(1)) No landlord shall be entitled to retain any portion of a security deposit if the security deposit was not deposited in a separate account. (KRS § 383.580(4))
  • Pet Deposits and Additional Fees: No Statute
  • Move-In Disclosure: A prospective tenant shall be presented with a comprehensive listing of any then-existing damage to the unit which would be the basis for a charge against the security deposit. (KRS § 383.580(2))
  • Move-Out Checklist/Itemized List of Damages and Charges: Required (KRS § 383.580(3))
  • Advance Notice of Withholding: Required. The tenant also has a right to inspect the premise after receiving the itemized list of damages to verify the accuracy. (KRS § 383.580(3))
  • Record Keeping of Deposit Withholdings: No Statute
  • Receipt of Deposit: No Statute

Lease, Rent and Fees:

  • Rent Is Due: Rent is payable without demand or notice at the time and place agreed upon by the parties. Unless otherwise agreed, rent is due at the beginning of each month, and apportionable day-to-day. (KRS § 383.565(2))
  • Default Term: Unless the rental agreement fixes a definite term, the tenancy is week-to-week in case of a tenant who pays weekly rent, and in all other cases month-to-month. (KRS § 383.565(3))
  • Rent Increase Notice: No Statute
  • Rent Grace Period: No Statute
  • Late Fees: No Statute
  • Prepaid Rent: No Statute
  • Returned Check Fees: $50 (KRS § 514.040)
  • Prohibited Lease Clauses: A landlord is prohibited from enforcing lease clauses found in KRS § 383.570.
  • Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): Yes (KRS § 383.640 and 383.645)
  • Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: Yes, if the cost of the repair is less than $100 or 1/2 of the monthly rent, and the landlord is given 14 days notice but does not remedy the issue. (KRS § 383.635)
  • Landlord Allowed to Recover Court and Attorney Fees: Yes (KRS § 383.640 and 383.645)
  • Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages, including an Attempt to Rerent: Yes (KRS § 383.670(2))

Notices and Entry:

  • Definition of Notice: KRS § 383.560
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Fixed End Date in Lease: No Statute. Typically no notice is needed as the lease simply expires.
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Month-to-Month Lease: 30 days (KRS § 383.695(2))
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Week-to-Week Lease: 7 days (KRS § 383.695(1))
  • Termination for Nonpayment: 7 days to remedy or quit (KRS § 383.660(2))
  • Termination for Lease Violation: 15 days to remedy or quit. Repeating offenders for the same violation within 6 months, having already received notice once before, can be given an unconditional quit notice. (KRS § 383.660(1))
  • Termination under Labor Contract: When a tenant enters or holds premises by virtue of a contract in which it is stipulated that he is to labor for his landlord, and he fails to begin to labor, or if, having begun, without good cause fails to comply with his contract, his right to the premises shall at once cease, and he shall abandon them without demand or notice. (KRS § 383.130)
  • Required Notice before Entry: 2 days, and landlord may only enter premise at reasonable times. (KRS § 383.615)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs (non-emergency): Yes (KRS § 383.615)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Showings: Yes (KRS § 383.615)
  • Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes (KRS § 383.615)
  • Notice of Date/Time of Move-Out Inspection: No Statute
  • Notice of Extended Absence: If specified in the rental agreement, the tenant must give notice to the landlord of any absence of 7 days or longer. If the tenant fails to do so, the tenant can be held responsible for any damages resulting from his/her absence. (KRS § 383.670 and 383.620)
  • Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: Yes (KRS § 383.670)
  • Notice to Tenants for Pesticide Use: No Statute
  • Lockouts Allowed: No (KRS § 383.655)
  • Utility Shut-offs Allowed: No (KRS § 383.655)
  • Consequences for Self-Help Eviction: 3 months periodic rent, reasonable attorney’s fees, and the return of any prepaid rent. (KRS § 383.655)

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes:

  • Landlord Duties & Maintenance: (KRS § 383.595)
    • Compliance: Comply with the requirements of applicable building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;
    • Repairs: Make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and habitable condition;
    • Common Areas: Keep all common areas of the premises in a clean and safe condition;
    • Maintenance: Maintain in good and safe working order and condition all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances, including elevators, supplied or required to be supplied by him; and
    • Heat: Supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water at all times and reasonable heat between October 1 and May 1 except where the building that includes the dwelling unit is not required by law to be equipped for that purpose, or the dwelling unit is so constructed that heat or hot water is generated by an installation within the exclusive control of the tenant and supplied by a direct public utility connection.
  • Tenant’s Duties: (KRS § 383.605)
    • Compliance: Comply with all obligations primarily imposed upon tenants by applicable provisions of building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;
    • Cleanliness: Keep that part of the premises that he occupies and uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permit;
    • Trash: Dispose from his dwelling unit all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste in a clean and safe manner;
    • Plumbing: Keep all plumbing fixtures in the dwelling unit or used by the tenant as clean as their condition permits;
    • Appliances: Use in a reasonable manner all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning and other facilities and appliances including elevators in the premises;
    • Lawful Activity: Not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair or remove any part of the premises or knowingly permit any person to do so; and
    • Quite Enjoyment: Conduct himself and require other persons on the premises with his consent to conduct themselves in a manner that will not disturb his neighbors’ peaceful enjoyment of the premises.
  • Name and Addresses: Before a lease begins, the owner must disclose the name and address of the landlord, property owner, and anyone authorized to manage the property or allowed to receive notice on the owner’s behalf. (KRS § 383.585(1))
  • House Rules and Regulations: A landlord has the right to create rules and regulations at any time, under certain circumstances. (KRS § 383.610)
  • Domestic Violence Situations: No Statute
  • Retaliation: For 1 year thereafter, a landlord must not terminate, refuse to renew a lease, or fine a tenant for complaining to the landlord for a violation listed under KRS § 383.595 for complaining to a government agency, or being involved in a tenant’s organization, otherwise retaliation will be assumed. (KRS § 383.705)
  • Lead Disclosure: Landlords must disclose all known lead paint hazards. Landlords must also provide tenants, as an attachment to a written lease, with an information pamphlet on lead-based paint hazards.

Court and Legal Related:

Business Licenses:

Helpful Videos

Landlord-Tenant Overview for Kentucky

Eviction in Kentucky

Small Claims Court in Kentucky

NOTE: The maximum limit has been raised to $2,500

Get Updates by Email!

Join 180,000+ 
Landlordologists

  • Weekly Articles & Tips
  • Updates on Rental Laws
  • ​Useful Tools & Resources
Topics:
  Laws & Regulations

292 CommentsLeave a Comment

  • Barb

    If you were renting a house and the previous renters left stuff behind and it was never removed in 4 months whos property is it. The previous renters never talked to the landlord about holding they just up and left.

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available. Be short, sweet and to the point.