Kansas Rental Laws

Written on September 13, 2014 by , updated on November 1, 2017

flag-of-kansasThis article summarizes some key Kansas Landlord-Tenant Laws applicable to residential rental units.

The Official State Statutes and other reputable municipal sources were used to research this information. All sources are cited appropriately.

With that said, landlord-tenant laws are always changing, and may even vary from county to county.  You have a responsibility to perform your own research and cautiously apply the laws to your unique situation.

If you have a legal question or concern, I only recommend contacting a licensed attorney referral service that is operated by the state bar association. This article is not intended to be exhaustive or a substitute for qualified legal advice.

Official Rules and Regulations

Security Deposit:

  • Security Deposit Maximum: One month’s rent maximum for unfurnished units, and one and a half month’s rent for furnished units. Separate pet deposits are also allowed, if pets are allowed. (§§ 58-2550(a))
  • Security Deposit Interest: No statute
  • Separate Security Deposit Bank Account: No statute
  • Pet Deposits: In addition to a security deposit, landlord may charge a pet deposit of no more than one-half of one month’s rent. (§§ 58-2550(a))
  • Non-Refundable Fees: No statute
  • Deadline for Returning Security Deposit: Within 14 days of landlord determining the amount of deposit withholding, and not to exceed 30 days from termination of the tenancy, move-out and demand for the deposit by the tenant. If tenant does not make demand for the deposit within 30 days of termination of the tenancy, landlord must mail that portion of the security deposit due the tenant to the tenant’s last known address. (§§ 58-2550(b))
  • Permitted Uses of the Deposit:
    • Payment of rent owed;
    • Damages which the landlord has suffered due to the tenant’s noncompliance with the rental agreement or statutory Tenant Duties. (§§ 58-2550(b))
  • Require Written Description/Itemized List of Damages and Charges: No statute
  • Record Keeping of Deposit Withholdings: No statute
  • Receipt of Deposit: No statute
  • Failure to Comply: If landlord fails to comply with rules for security deposit return, tenant may sue to recover the portion of the security deposit that is due, plus damages equal to one and a half the amount wrongfully withheld. (58-2550(c))

Lease, Rent & Fees:

  • Rent Is Due: Unless agreed to otherwise in the lease, rent is due at the beginning of any term of one month or less. (§§ 58-2545(c))
  • Rent Increase Notice: As stated in the lease (§§ 58-2545)
  • Rent Grace Period: No statute
  • Late Fees: As stated in the lease (§§ 58-2545)
  • Prepaid Rent: No statute
  • Returned Check Fees: $30
  • Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): No statute allowing rent withholding, but for landlord violations of lease or statutory Landlord Duties tenant may terminate the agreement with 30-day written notice that provides 14 days for landlord to remedy. See statute for further details. (§§ 58-2559)
  • Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: No statute
  • Landlord Allowed to Recover Court and Attorney Fees: No lease may include a provision for either the landlord or tenant to agree to pay the other’s attorney fees. (§§ 58-2547(3))
  • Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages to Lessee, including an Attempt to Rerent: Yes (§§ 58-2565(c))
  • Abandonment/Early Termination Fee: No statute for abandonment/early termination fee, but if tenant abandons premises and leaves personal property, landlord may take possession of the property, store it at tenant’s expense and sell or dispose of it after 30 days. See statute for required notification prior to sale and for the allowed uses of the proceeds of such sale. (§§ 58-2565(d))

Notices and Entry:

  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Fixed End Date in Lease: No notice is required as the lease simply ends. (§§ 58-2509)
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Yearly Lease with No End Date: Non-farm tenancies from year to year may be terminated with 30-day written notice prior to the end of the year. (§§ 58-2505)
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Month-to-Month Lease: 30-day written notice prior to a periodic rent-paying date, except where the tenant is in U.S. military service and termination of the tenancy is necessitated by military orders, in which case a minimum 15-day written notice is required. (§§ 58-2570(b))
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Week-to-Week Lease: Seven-day written notice prior to the termination date specified in the notice (§§ 58-2570(a))
  • Termination of Tenancy with 24 Hours Notice: No statute
  • Notice of Date/Time of Move-Out Inspection: Within five days of move-in, tenant and landlord or landlord’s representative must inspect the rental together and inventory in writing the condition of the premises and that of any furnishings or appliances provided. Both parties must sign the completed written inventory and both parties must receive a copy of the signed inventory. (§§ 58-2548)
  • Notice of Termination for Nonpayment of Tenancies Longer than Three Months: 10-day written notice, and the tenant may prevent termination by paying the outstanding rent within that period (§§ 58-2507)
  • Notice of Termination for Nonpayment of Tenancies Shorter than Three Months : 3-day written notice, and the tenant may prevent termination by paying the outstanding rent within that period (§§ 58-2508)
  • Termination for Lease Violation: For tenant violations of the rental agreement or statutory Tenant Duties, landlord may give written notice describing the violation and stating that the agreement will terminate in 30 days if the violation is not remedied within 14 days. For a second such violation within six months of the first, landlord may terminate the agreement with a 30-day written notice specifying the breach and the date the agreement shall terminate, without the option to remedy. (§§ 58-2564)
  • Required Notice before Entry: Landlord must give tenant reasonable notice before entry at a reasonable hour. (§§ 58-2557)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs (non-emergency): Yes (§§ 58-2557)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Showings: Yes (§§ 58-2557)
  • Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes, entry without consent allowed in case of extreme hazard involving potential loss of life or severe property damage. (§§ 58-2557(b))
  • Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: Rental agreement may require tenant to notify landlord of any anticipated extended absence longer than seven days, no later than the first day of the extended absence. During any absence of tenant in excess of 30 days, landlord may enter at times reasonably necessary. (§§ 58-2558 and §§ 58-2565)
  • Notice to Tenants for Pesticide Use: No statute
  • Lockouts Allowed: No (§§ 58-2563)
  • Utility Shut-offs Allowed: No (§§ 58-2563 and §§ 58-2569)

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes:

  • Name and Addresses: Prior to the start of a tenancy, landlord must disclose in writing the name and address of landlord and any property manager for the service of process and for the receipt of notices and demands. (§§ 58-2551)
  • Copy of the Lease: Landlord must give tenant a copy of the lease that has been signed by both parties, and if the landlord does not do so and then later accepts rent from the tenant, that acceptance gives the rental agreement the same effect as if it had been signed and delivered by the landlord. The term of any such lease is limited to one year, regardless of the term stated in the lease. (§§ 58-2546)
  • Domestic Violence Situations: No statute. The Kansas Coalition Against Sexual & Domestic Violence has a 24-hour free hotline (1-888-363-2287) and links to support resources by county.
  • Landlord’s Duties: (§§ 58-2553)
    • Compliance: Comply with the requirements of applicable building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;
    • Repairs: Make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and habitable condition;
    • Common Areas: Exercise reasonable care in the maintenance of common areas;
    • Maintenance: Maintain in good and safe working order and condition all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating and air-conditioning appliances including elevators, supplied or required to be supplied by landlord;
    • Trash: Provide appropriate receptacles for the removal of trash and other waste incidental to occupancy and arrange for removal, except where provided by a governmental entity;
    • Heat: Supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water at all times and reasonable heat between October 1 and May 1 except where the building that includes the dwelling unit is not required by law to be equipped for that purpose, or the dwelling unit is so constructed that heat or hot water is generated by an installation within the exclusive control of the tenant and supplied by a direct public utility connection.
  • Tenant’s Duties: (§§ 58-2555)
    • Compliance: Comply with all obligations primarily imposed upon tenants by applicable provisions of building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;
    • Cleanliness: Keep the premises that tenant occupies and uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permit;
    • Trash: Dispose from tenant’s dwelling unit all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste in a clean and safe manner;
    • Plumbing: Keep all plumbing fixtures in the dwelling unit or used by the tenant as clean as their condition permits;
    • Appliances: Use in a reasonable manner all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning and other facilities and appliances including elevators in the premises;
    • Lawful Activity: Be responsible for any damage or removal of any part of the premises caused by an act or omission of the tenant or by any person or animal on the premises at any time with the express or implied permission or consent of the tenant; and
    • Quiet Enjoyment: Not engage in conduct or allow any person or animal on the premises with the express or implied permission or consent of the tenant to engage in conduct that disturbs the quiet and peaceful enjoyment of the premises by other tenants.
  • Retaliation: Landlord may not retaliate against a tenant by increasing rent or decreasing services after tenant has complained to a governmental agency charged with enforcement of building or housing codes, complained to landlord of a violation of statutory Landlord Duties, or become involved in a tenant’s union. Read §§ 58-2572 for more information.
  • Lead Disclosure:  Landlords must disclose all known lead paint hazards. Landlords must also provide tenants, as an attachment to a written lease, with an information pamphlet on lead-based paint hazards.

Court Related:

Business Licenses:

  • Business License Required: No statewide statute, but local cities and counties may have regulations and requirements. Check with your local governing authority.

Videos

Get our free newsletter

Join 200,000+ landlords

  • ​Tips to increase income
  • Time-saving techniques
  • ​Powerful tools & resources
Topics:
  Laws & Regulations

164 CommentsLeave a Comment

  • Samantha

    I am late on rent. My landord said he would give me an extra 10 days to pay. I still can’t pay. He is telling me that his text messages are an eviction notice.

    He has threatened to “get me out of there” and has called my family names.

    Doesn’t he have to give me a 30 day eviction notice through a court?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Samantha

      Here’s what I was able to find:

      Notice of Termination for Nonpayment of Tenancies Longer than Three Months: 10-day written notice, and the tenant may prevent termination by paying the outstanding rent within that period (§§ 58-2507)

      Notice of Termination for Nonpayment of Tenancies Shorter than Three Months : 3-day written notice, and the tenant may prevent termination by paying the outstanding rent within that period (§§ 58-2508)

      • Rascal DeLapp

        Sorry, KSA 58-2507; this is for commercial and farm leases. When a tenant does not pay rent went required. Normally this is on a the 1st of the month, but can with agreement made a different date.

        The Kansas Residential Landlord Tenant act begins at 58-2540. When a law is specific to an issue you follow that not the general KSA.

        All that is required is to give a 3-day notice, which is written, and says that you must pay within 72 hours or quite. The landlord must accept the rent in the 72 hours and allow you to stay. After that time period the money is still owed, but he does not have to allow you stay. Its his choice. Before the 72 hours expire, starting when he delivered it, personal or by posting, he must accept it.

        • Lucas Hall

          Hi Rascal,

          Thanks for the clarification! I’d like to correct this article. Can you tell me what statute discussed the 3-day notice and payment within 72 hours? I couldn’t find that mentioned after 58-2540….?

          • Anna

            Hi my lamdlord gave me a 3 day notice by law in salina ks do i have to be out in 72 hours or can i wait till the end of the month i have to be out on thursday it is the 20 of january….

          • Anna

            Hi my landlord gave me a 3 day notice by law in salina ks do i have to be out in 72 hours or can i wait till the end of the month i have to be out on thursday it is the 20 of january….

            • theresa smith

              hi ‘m not a atty but ive been reading these statutes all morning for an issue i am having with landlord in all research ive done law/statute states they can give you a 3 day notice to vacate but then must go to court to get eviction notice and sheriff removal of tenant which can take 30 days.

              this state was stated in several different sites i visited

              now for my issue, ive been given 14 day eviction notice because i refused to accept the prop owners compensation offer for my having to pay for all the hot water (gas) in this duplex. i didnt know i was paying it until it sprang a leak 2 weeks ago, and neighbors had no hot water as there is no water heater on their side. comp offer was for $30 off aprils rent. surely this is illegal?

      • Laveda Davis

        I have never missed a month of rent in my duplex that i have occupied for 4 years and my disabled sister lives next door. I have only met my landlord 1 time and she only texts me. Today when i arrived home from work I had a letter in the mail stating that our lease would not be renewed and we have 30 days to surrender our keys and apartments. When I called the number on the bottom of the letter a lady named Stephnie got on the phone and said that the landlord just didnt want to rent the duplexes anymore. Im facing a heartship because i am my sisters care giver and with a 8 hour work day and no time off in the next 2 weeks im stressed to find a place that is wheelchair accessible. Is this legal and what can I do?? We are not behind on rent.

  • KansasBoo

    Our PM rented our property under Sec 8. We had not officially agreed to this. The tenants have moved in, signed a lease for 1 year, and have paid 1 month pro-rated until Sec 8 picks up. Today we’re told that Sec 8 approved a house with more bedrooms than our house, and would only agree to our house if we lowered it another $75 (average rental rate for a house our size is $1250 – $1500). If we don’t lower are the tenants still bound by the lease, and will Sec 8 back pay from the last month? If sec 8 doesn’t pick up the back rent, and they move out; can the remaining balance be deducted from their deposit?

    • Rod Kreinbrink

      HI Kansas, I read you question and section 8 here in Florida is kind of interesting in itself. Now I know that I am not in Kansas, but I can tell you how section 8 works here in Florida. In Florida, Hud will pay a max of $900.00 a month for a 3 bedroom home, so there are caps in every category. 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom, etc. The lease. Was it conditional upon a section 8 approval? What happens here is the tenants have to pay the difference every month. So they already have a contribution portion, so their portion would be a bit higher-the difference of your rent amount. 2. Maybe sec 8 might backpay, but you would have to call hud to find out. 3. Deposit money…what did you contract say, try to look up your states laws online. G.L

  • Angela

    Two summers in a row my bathroom ceiling has collapsed from what they say was ac condensation. When I saw it do it again and now mold was appearing they sent someone and painted over it. This has been going on for almost three months. I have small children and think the mold is the cause of their breathing issues. Continuously they paint over it. Is this terms for me to terminate my lease?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Angela,

      You’d have to talk to lawyer since you’re looking for legal advice. What I can say is that mold “can” be a reason to terminate the lease if the landlord doesn’t fix the problem, but it has to be the toxic kind of mold, and the landlord has to fail at remedying it. A attorney would be able to tell you more (which I am not). Good luck to you and your family.

  • Kim

    My rental was bought by another owner 3 months ago. I have never been late until this month due to a notice placed on my window by the city stating the Rental License Fee had not been paid. A week later, a storm a came through and knocked my backyard tree into my neighbor s garage. I explained it to the landlord and he said the insurance for the house was terminated and therefore was not going to be responsible for compensation of my neighbor’s damages. My questions are: Isn’t acquiring insurance for his property a requirement? Is he not responsible for paying the damages? Am I wrong for not paying rent if he hasn’t paid his fee to rent to me? This new landlord seems shady and l no longer want to rent from him!

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Kim

      While obtaining home insurance is very wise, it’s not a requirement. But it really doesn’t matter. Generally, the owner of the tree will be responsible – regardless of if there is insurance on the property.

      I don’t suggest you withhold rent unless the property is uninhabitable. If you withhold rent, you are in breach of the contract, and could get your lease terminated. Lots of times, tenant’s think that they can withhold rent if the landlord doesn’t pay his/her mortgage or taxes, but it’s just not true.

      My friendly advice is to pay your rent according to your lease – even if the landlord seems shady.

  • Tony

    I live in a brick building that i believe is zoned for comercial, but as we speak, i have the oven running 2 space heaters and a fireplace electric heater, and the actual building heater is running, but the thermostat is not located in my area to where i have access to it at all, and obviously i have no control over the heater in the area other than my space heaters, i’m running my heaters 24/7 and the warmest my area is getting is about 64-65 degrees right next to the heater that has a built in thermostat so away from the heater its quite a bit colder, and also in the summer same circumstance where i have no control and the coolest it gets is about 78-80. Is there anything i can do to make it so my place is much warmer?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi

      What does your landlord say about it? If he/she is unresponsive, you could contact the local housing authority. But if it is indeed commercial, they may force you to move. Depending on what the housing authority or zoning office says, you might want to talk to a lawyer (which I am not).

  • Amber

    Hi! I recently moved out of a rental property which had carpet that was at LEAST 10 yrs old w/some previous stains/damage. Per the lease agreement, I hired a company to clean the carpets after vacating. I got a call from this company several days after end of lease saying they were on their way to clean my carpets again. I called the leasing office & they decided it wasn’t clean enough. We did have a coffee stain which we tried to clean as soon as the accident happened & we had a few pet stains (but we used enzyme based cleaner as those occurred). I would like to know if they can charge me for the carpet replacement or a 2nd cleaning when the carpet is so old? I have been told the limit is 7 years on carpet in rentals. Is this correct?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Amber,

      I’ve not seen any statute that says “7 years” is the limit. Plus, every carpet has a different grade and quality, some will last 3 years, others 15.

      If your lease requires you to “clean” the carpets, then it may take multiple cleanings to get the job done. If your lease just says you have to pay for 1 cleaning, then I don’t see how they charge you for two if you’re only obligated for one. See what I mean?

      I hope that helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • Linda

    Im one month behind they refused my rent kansas

    • Lucas Hall

      That’s certainly their right. In fact, if they have started the eviction process, their lawyer has probably instructed them to not accept any money from you until the proceedings are over.

  • Logan

    I own a trailer in rent a lot in Wichita Kansas and I have been receiving a bill for water without even knowing who this utility company is. All the water in the trailer park is on one main line with no meters and they are charging everybody by the number of people in the home for the water bill. I have had my water shut off and I’m still getting bills racked up with one additional person then listed and I’m not even using water I’m not giving this utility company my information due to the fact that I was not notified about This company or this bill I am on a month to month rental agreement and in June I paid 2 years in advance rent and this utility company used the mobile home park as the collection agency and deducted from prepaid rent

  • Kathryn

    I have a lease that is up in May. The late rent section in my lease states that there is to be NO fees after the 15th of the month. The new office manager placed a new notice on all doors stating that there is no longer a 125.00 cap on late fees and fees will acrue until paid and will roll over into the next month.

  • Tallie

    My daughter is renting out a basement and landlord lives upstairs. No private entrance if that matters. Landlord keeps coming downstairs and moving my daughters belongings and has now moved a bed into one of the bedrooms(2bedroom basement). My daughter feels violated as the landlord is giving no notice while doing any of this and does it while my daughter is out at work. Is there some way my daughter would be able to get out of the contract? Get the deposit back for violatio of privacy?

  • Araceli Garcia

    Where I live I’m paying 550 in rent and I got a letter saying my rent is going to increase 145 for utility charges and I think its not fair since we have a bad service here the heater is cotrolled from the office and in most of the apartments it doesn’t heat can I please get a answer in what can I do sinse I have a lease for 1 year

  • lachelle

    I found a house and was told by the landlord it was a 3br house only later to find out it was only 2. The deposit was 700 but I gave 350 two days prior to finding out it was a room short. Can the landlord keep my money?

  • Angie

    What is the age requirement to rent an Apartment? Thanks!

  • Cinthya

    I own a mobile home and it’s at a trailer park. If I sell it can the purchaser move it. I have the title and everything

  • Cheri Barnes

    Is there a law in the state of kansas that requires a rental to be “heated” with something other than strictly space heaters? Isn’t it unsafe to run space heaters as only source of heat 24/7? Approx. 700 sq feet and no central heat or air. Apt below has heat, but no duct work to upatairs. 2 space heaters were provided but do little to heat 4 rooms and bathroom. Not to mention can only be plugged in certain plug in or breakers trip. Lease said that heaters would be provided. 2 space heaters have been. Can lease be terminated by tenant early due to unsafe living conditions/ inadequate heat?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Cheri

      That does sound unsafe. I don’t know if there’s any regulation that specifically mentions space heaters but generally speaking, all dwelling rooms must be able to reach “adequate” temperatures in order be considered inhabitable. Each county is different, but the minimum temp requirement is typically It somewhere between 60-70 degrees. It sounds like that even if you had ample power, space heaters still wouldn’t do the trick.

      I hope that helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer nor is this legal advice.

  • Carrie D Brecheisen

    My landlord is refusing to put in a curbside mailbox. The post office sent letters out the first of December 2015. My mail is being held at the post office and they are getting quite moody about me picking up my mail. They requested it due to a loose dog in the neighborhood and the owners failed to comply with their request to lock it up. What can I do?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Carrie,

      I agree that it would be in the best interest of your landlord to pay to install one, but since it’s your mail, why couldn’t you just pay to put in a mail box? If the landlord doesn’t want it there after you leave, someone can just put it out of the ground.

      You could get a post and box for less than $50 on amazon: http://amzn.to/1TdO7Ue

  • Sandy

    A year and 6 months ago my family moved out of our apartment in Kansas, the manager and i did a walk through and everything was fine. She said they would take out a cleaning fee for the carpets and i was okay with that. So i signed the Walk Through.. one month later I received a letter stating that we where being charged for Carpet replacement. She also added that to the walk out paper over the copy of my name. i wrote a letter asking for proof and did not hear anything from them until a year and a half later through an attorney. What is the statue of limitations?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Sandy

      It looks like in KS, the statute of limitations on property damage is 2 years – according to Nolo: http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/statute-of-limitations-state-laws-chart-29941.html

      • Jennifer Snyder

        We rented a house for not quite 3 years. being billed for carpet replacement from pet damage, we cleaned carpets before moving -house was spotless we took very good care of it. They pulled carpets up and due to stains on the underneath side which weren’t just pet stains they are billing us for the ENTIRE house to be recarpeted even where stains did not exist? They said it had a 5 year life span – charging us 33 months -the time we lived in the house vs. remaining life. I emailed a year ago that the fibers started pulling up when we would vacuum to make them aware no response. I asked for receipt of carpet to make sure same carpet grade and what carpet we were being billed for – no answer. what are our rights

  • Christin

    Hi, I just recently moved into an apartment (which is stated as a BEDROOM in TOWNHOME on the lease in case that’s important). Today my upstairs neighbor told me that when the houses get inspected, the landlord will take the door off the hinges and hang a curtain. Is this legal? I wasn’t informed of any inspections in the lease…

  • mike Brown

    We was evicted from a place we rented. We had no lease no deposit. We had 30 minutes to get things out. Can the landlord keep all of our things for back rent or can we still get out things that belong to us?

  • Kayce Arnold

    My bf was late on rent and the landlord was filing for eviction in Nov 2015. I talked to the landLord and came to a agreement of paying 300 a week til amount is paid. Landlord had my bf sign a agreement to pay with how much he was going to pay and stuff. Well my bf made his 300 payments until middle of Jan 2016. His work was messing with his checks and he couldn’t afford it. My bf missed 2 payments and the landlord verbally told him he had to move out. My bf told him he had to give him at least a 3 day notice. 2 days later the landlord came back with a letter that was hand written telling him he was evicted and changed the locks while my bf was at work. So the landlord self helped evicted him. All his stuff is still in the house. What can

    • Kayce Arnold

      What can we do?? I’ve been told that we can sue due to illegal eviction. The landlord is trying to use the eviction form Nov 2015 on Feb 2016. He says that the eviction from Nov 2015 he can use in
      Feb. 2016.

      Please someone help us.

  • Rachael

    My first lease was up and I moved to a smaller apartment due to loss of some income per month. In that 12 month lease I had a check bounce which I paid the fees and gave them a money order that was towards the end of my 12 month lease agreement. I signed a lease renewal and another 12 month lease in the 3rd month of that lease another check bounced and I paid another money order and the late fee. The complex informed me that I was going to have to pay with only money orders since I had 2 violations within a 12 month period. I explained that I filled my first 12 month lease agreement with 1 violation and this is a new 12 month lease agreement with only 1 violation. Is this legal?

  • Shi

    I have discovered black mold in the walls, crawl spaces, and several other areas of my home. I had a contractor come out to check as well. He told me there was “significant black mold” in the home. I contacted my Landlord and he came and put lye on the floor and in the corners. He has not done much else. My children have developed rashes, breathing issues, etc… Do I have a case to break my lease?

  • Vanessa

    Landlord is avoiding sewer flooding. There is feces in my kitchen sink. I have immune system disorder 17 yrs. This is the 3rd time in 3 months. The situation is not being attend. I’ve got documents. I am now sick with stomach virus. I’m in emotional distress. There is no ventilation. I’m scared that I will get sicker and be hospitalized. I don’t have the white blood cells to fight infection.

  • Robert Fisher

    If my applicants change their minds, and don’t sign a lease after they’ve already paid a deposit and I’ve taken the unit off the market – do they get their deposit back?

  • Amy

    I moved into an apartment in octobober my heater has never properly worked they come fix it , it last two days then breaks again , I was lucky it was a warmer winter. Well now my AC is not working , I told them three weeks ago , I got told they would come out Monday to fix it , no one showed up I called and called and left message after message with no reply , it gets up to 85 in my apartment , I went to office and was told the man never showed up to fix the ACS and that I wasn’t even on the list for them to be fixed , so she told me again Monday some one be out , once again no show I’ve called and left messages again no responses I have a small child and he is sweating just sitting here , what can I do for them to get my AC fixed ?

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available. Be short, sweet and to the point.