Kansas Rental Laws

Written on September 13, 2014 by , updated on November 1, 2017

flag-of-kansasThis article summarizes some key Kansas Landlord-Tenant Laws applicable to residential rental units.

The Official State Statutes and other reputable municipal sources were used to research this information. All sources are cited appropriately.

With that said, landlord-tenant laws are always changing, and may even vary from county to county.  You have a responsibility to perform your own research and cautiously apply the laws to your unique situation.

If you have a legal question or concern, I only recommend contacting a licensed attorney referral service that is operated by the state bar association. This article is not intended to be exhaustive or a substitute for qualified legal advice.

Official Rules and Regulations

Security Deposit:

  • Security Deposit Maximum: One month’s rent maximum for unfurnished units, and one and a half month’s rent for furnished units. Separate pet deposits are also allowed, if pets are allowed. (§§ 58-2550(a))
  • Security Deposit Interest: No statute
  • Separate Security Deposit Bank Account: No statute
  • Pet Deposits: In addition to a security deposit, landlord may charge a pet deposit of no more than one-half of one month’s rent. (§§ 58-2550(a))
  • Non-Refundable Fees: No statute
  • Deadline for Returning Security Deposit: Within 14 days of landlord determining the amount of deposit withholding, and not to exceed 30 days from termination of the tenancy, move-out and demand for the deposit by the tenant. If tenant does not make demand for the deposit within 30 days of termination of the tenancy, landlord must mail that portion of the security deposit due the tenant to the tenant’s last known address. (§§ 58-2550(b))
  • Permitted Uses of the Deposit:
    • Payment of rent owed;
    • Damages which the landlord has suffered due to the tenant’s noncompliance with the rental agreement or statutory Tenant Duties. (§§ 58-2550(b))
  • Require Written Description/Itemized List of Damages and Charges: No statute
  • Record Keeping of Deposit Withholdings: No statute
  • Receipt of Deposit: No statute
  • Failure to Comply: If landlord fails to comply with rules for security deposit return, tenant may sue to recover the portion of the security deposit that is due, plus damages equal to one and a half the amount wrongfully withheld. (58-2550(c))

Lease, Rent & Fees:

  • Rent Is Due: Unless agreed to otherwise in the lease, rent is due at the beginning of any term of one month or less. (§§ 58-2545(c))
  • Rent Increase Notice: As stated in the lease (§§ 58-2545)
  • Rent Grace Period: No statute
  • Late Fees: As stated in the lease (§§ 58-2545)
  • Prepaid Rent: No statute
  • Returned Check Fees: $30
  • Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): No statute allowing rent withholding, but for landlord violations of lease or statutory Landlord Duties tenant may terminate the agreement with 30-day written notice that provides 14 days for landlord to remedy. See statute for further details. (§§ 58-2559)
  • Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: No statute
  • Landlord Allowed to Recover Court and Attorney Fees: No lease may include a provision for either the landlord or tenant to agree to pay the other’s attorney fees. (§§ 58-2547(3))
  • Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages to Lessee, including an Attempt to Rerent: Yes (§§ 58-2565(c))
  • Abandonment/Early Termination Fee: No statute for abandonment/early termination fee, but if tenant abandons premises and leaves personal property, landlord may take possession of the property, store it at tenant’s expense and sell or dispose of it after 30 days. See statute for required notification prior to sale and for the allowed uses of the proceeds of such sale. (§§ 58-2565(d))

Notices and Entry:

  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Fixed End Date in Lease: No notice is required as the lease simply ends. (§§ 58-2509)
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Yearly Lease with No End Date: Non-farm tenancies from year to year may be terminated with 30-day written notice prior to the end of the year. (§§ 58-2505)
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Month-to-Month Lease: 30-day written notice prior to a periodic rent-paying date, except where the tenant is in U.S. military service and termination of the tenancy is necessitated by military orders, in which case a minimum 15-day written notice is required. (§§ 58-2570(b))
  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Week-to-Week Lease: Seven-day written notice prior to the termination date specified in the notice (§§ 58-2570(a))
  • Termination of Tenancy with 24 Hours Notice: No statute
  • Notice of Date/Time of Move-Out Inspection: Within five days of move-in, tenant and landlord or landlord’s representative must inspect the rental together and inventory in writing the condition of the premises and that of any furnishings or appliances provided. Both parties must sign the completed written inventory and both parties must receive a copy of the signed inventory. (§§ 58-2548)
  • Notice of Termination for Nonpayment of Tenancies Longer than Three Months: 10-day written notice, and the tenant may prevent termination by paying the outstanding rent within that period (§§ 58-2507)
  • Notice of Termination for Nonpayment of Tenancies Shorter than Three Months : 3-day written notice, and the tenant may prevent termination by paying the outstanding rent within that period (§§ 58-2508)
  • Termination for Lease Violation: For tenant violations of the rental agreement or statutory Tenant Duties, landlord may give written notice describing the violation and stating that the agreement will terminate in 30 days if the violation is not remedied within 14 days. For a second such violation within six months of the first, landlord may terminate the agreement with a 30-day written notice specifying the breach and the date the agreement shall terminate, without the option to remedy. (§§ 58-2564)
  • Required Notice before Entry: Landlord must give tenant reasonable notice before entry at a reasonable hour. (§§ 58-2557)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs (non-emergency): Yes (§§ 58-2557)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Showings: Yes (§§ 58-2557)
  • Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes, entry without consent allowed in case of extreme hazard involving potential loss of life or severe property damage. (§§ 58-2557(b))
  • Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: Rental agreement may require tenant to notify landlord of any anticipated extended absence longer than seven days, no later than the first day of the extended absence. During any absence of tenant in excess of 30 days, landlord may enter at times reasonably necessary. (§§ 58-2558 and §§ 58-2565)
  • Notice to Tenants for Pesticide Use: No statute
  • Lockouts Allowed: No (§§ 58-2563)
  • Utility Shut-offs Allowed: No (§§ 58-2563 and §§ 58-2569)

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes:

  • Name and Addresses: Prior to the start of a tenancy, landlord must disclose in writing the name and address of landlord and any property manager for the service of process and for the receipt of notices and demands. (§§ 58-2551)
  • Copy of the Lease: Landlord must give tenant a copy of the lease that has been signed by both parties, and if the landlord does not do so and then later accepts rent from the tenant, that acceptance gives the rental agreement the same effect as if it had been signed and delivered by the landlord. The term of any such lease is limited to one year, regardless of the term stated in the lease. (§§ 58-2546)
  • Domestic Violence Situations: No statute. The Kansas Coalition Against Sexual & Domestic Violence has a 24-hour free hotline (1-888-363-2287) and links to support resources by county.
  • Landlord’s Duties: (§§ 58-2553)
    • Compliance: Comply with the requirements of applicable building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;
    • Repairs: Make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and habitable condition;
    • Common Areas: Exercise reasonable care in the maintenance of common areas;
    • Maintenance: Maintain in good and safe working order and condition all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating and air-conditioning appliances including elevators, supplied or required to be supplied by landlord;
    • Trash: Provide appropriate receptacles for the removal of trash and other waste incidental to occupancy and arrange for removal, except where provided by a governmental entity;
    • Heat: Supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water at all times and reasonable heat between October 1 and May 1 except where the building that includes the dwelling unit is not required by law to be equipped for that purpose, or the dwelling unit is so constructed that heat or hot water is generated by an installation within the exclusive control of the tenant and supplied by a direct public utility connection.
  • Tenant’s Duties: (§§ 58-2555)
    • Compliance: Comply with all obligations primarily imposed upon tenants by applicable provisions of building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety;
    • Cleanliness: Keep the premises that tenant occupies and uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permit;
    • Trash: Dispose from tenant’s dwelling unit all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste in a clean and safe manner;
    • Plumbing: Keep all plumbing fixtures in the dwelling unit or used by the tenant as clean as their condition permits;
    • Appliances: Use in a reasonable manner all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning and other facilities and appliances including elevators in the premises;
    • Lawful Activity: Be responsible for any damage or removal of any part of the premises caused by an act or omission of the tenant or by any person or animal on the premises at any time with the express or implied permission or consent of the tenant; and
    • Quiet Enjoyment: Not engage in conduct or allow any person or animal on the premises with the express or implied permission or consent of the tenant to engage in conduct that disturbs the quiet and peaceful enjoyment of the premises by other tenants.
  • Retaliation: Landlord may not retaliate against a tenant by increasing rent or decreasing services after tenant has complained to a governmental agency charged with enforcement of building or housing codes, complained to landlord of a violation of statutory Landlord Duties, or become involved in a tenant’s union. Read §§ 58-2572 for more information.
  • Lead Disclosure:  Landlords must disclose all known lead paint hazards. Landlords must also provide tenants, as an attachment to a written lease, with an information pamphlet on lead-based paint hazards.

Court Related:

Business Licenses:

  • Business License Required: No statewide statute, but local cities and counties may have regulations and requirements. Check with your local governing authority.

Videos

Get our free newsletter

Join 200,000+ landlords

  • ​Tips to increase income
  • Time-saving techniques
  • ​Powerful tools & resources
Topics:
  Laws & Regulations

157 CommentsLeave a Comment

  • Richard M. Fields

    Kansas
    Is it possible for a landlord to give a three day notice to vacate premesis and legally change the locks without first going through the eviction process and getting the court order?

  • Lynn Smith

    I own a mobile home and lease a rural private lot in Kansas. Who is responsible for the utility service lines between the point where the service provider’s obligation ends and the mobile home? For example: the electric lines between the pole and the home, or the propane lines between the tank and the home? Also what about the well and water lines that supply water to the home, and the septic system once the waste reaches the tank?

  • Chris

    Kansas – Shawnee County

    I gave a 30 day notification of vacancy to my apartment management and moved out on the agreed date. I did not try to recoup my deposit. I heard nothing from them for exactly 2 months. I tried to apply for another apartment elsewhere with a different management company and got denied. They contacted my previous apartment management and were told I owed the first apartment management money for damages that exceeded the deposit. I was never notified or contacted about the damages. They have my current phone number and I gave them a forwarding address on my 30 day notification. Any advice on how to go about this would be very helpful, thank you.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Chris,

      That’s so frustrating! You would think that they could contact you if they want your money!

      There’s no rulebook for handling this type of situation. But if I were you, I’d march right into the old leasing office and have a meeting with the manager. Sit down and get it figured out, so this doesn’t haunt you for years to come.

      Good luck, and please do let me know how it goes.

  • Rebecca

    Is it possible for my Landlord to take my security deposit? He has not given me a list of anything that needs to be done as a check off list. I am sure he is gonna take my deposit. The house is clean and everything is as I moved into it. If i left the house a mess and destroyed the place i can understand but i have cleaned it.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Rebecca,

      Unfortunately, I don’t believe Kansas requirement that landlords send an itemized list of deductions from the deposit. Most states require this, but I was unable to find this requirement in KS.

      With that said, a landlord can really only withhold deposit funds for damages beyond normal wear and tear, and for unpaid rent/fees.

      Good luck to you. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice. Cheers!

  • Lucia

    I am a landlord and have initiated pro se eviction proceedings against my tenant for non-payment of rent. A judgment was entered and the sheriff is scheduled to evict next week. I went by the house today to try and talk to my tenant (who had previously said she’d be out a couple of days ago) because she has no working phone. Although there are some signs of packing, it is a real mess and it does not look like she will be out of the house until forced to do so by the sheriff.

    What are my obligations as the evicting landlord to store/maintain any personal property that my tenant leaves behind? There is a lot of obvious trash outside but unless she figures out something within the next week, I’m afraid a lot of stuff will be left in the house.

  • Pam

    i paid my rent by check every month but never got a receipt from my landlord. She is now threatening to evict me for alleged unpaid rent. Does landlord have a valid case against me if she did not provide receipts for rent paid? What documents should I get from my bank to prove rent was actually paid?

    • D.T.

      if you did checks your bank should have the copies of the checks or if you did money orders, you would have the copy that wherever you got the money order from for your proof.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Pam,

      DT is right. Login to your bank’s online banking site, and print out copies of the cashed checks.

  • Muhammad usman khalid

    i am a tenant and there is bad situation in my new rented home like some one comes and asking about home stuffs and any unidentified person trying to theft my mopped , my wife and two children leave the home and say not comming back , i take this home on rent from this month of june , when i talk to landlord she says you have 06 months lease if you leaving then pay 1800 $ and go, otherwise we talk to attorney and attorney, meets you in court for reciving the rent . plz tell me i am a very poor man and dont have more money , i already give 02 months rent 625$ in advance and 275$ advance also , plz help me sir . answer me on email

  • John S

    I’ve been living in an apartment complex in Lawrence, KS since August of 2014, never once have we had a problem with our AC unit until now. At all times it is over 80 degrees in our 4 bedroom apartment. I’ve called multiple times for maintenance to no avail they say there’s nothing wrong with the AC and that it is working properly. I understand that living on the third floor of an apartment building can cause problems with the cooling of your unit (heat rising), also bad insulation or the sun heating the apartment. But if I turn my AC down to 70 degrees on a hot day and it stays at 88 degrees throughout the entire day shouldn’t the owner be responsible for fixing the air conditioner? What should I do here?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi John,

      It sounds like you need to press the manager more. Despite what the maintenance man is saying, that AC unit is not functionally normally. I think they are just not sure what to do, and are hoping you will go away. Remember, the squeaky wheel gets the oil!

      Perhaps you could get some window units to help?

  • Linda Chaney

    I got this from another site: “KS Termination & Eviction Rules
    State laws specify when & how a landlord may terminate a tenancy, i.e., a landlord may give a KS tenant who has repeated the same violation of the lease (after the 1st violation was corrected) an unconditional quit notice that gives the tenant 30 days to move out before the landlord can file for eviction.”
    My neighbor 2 doors down, the Gladys Kravitz of my community, has made it her lot in life to get me out of my apartment complex. She called the police several times, none of which was due to my behavior, actions, or inaction. Every time the police rolled their eyes & left. Now I receive a “Notice to Terminate Tenancy”. It tells me to vacate the property in 30 days. Not until halfway down does the word eviction appear. It is not on government paper, nor is it legally stamped.
    Is this legal???

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Linda

      A notice to terminate the lease is essentially an eviction. However a forced eviction is when the landlord goes to court, gets the judgement, and then hires the sheriff to remove you by force.

      It’s my understanding that when a 2nd similar violation occurs after the first one was corrected, a landlord can give the tenant an unconditional quit notice.

      The real question is “did you actually commit a violation?” Just because a noisy neighbor calls the cops doesn’t mean you did anything wrong. If you didn’t actually violate the lease, then the landlord wouldn’t have any real reason to terminate your lease – and you should talk to a lawyer about fighting it (which I am not)

      You can read all about it here: http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2012/b2011_12/statute/058_000_0000_chapter/058_025_0000_article/058_025_0064_section/058_025_0064_k/

  • Robert

    Hi,
    My roommate and I were planning on moving out of our apartment at the end of July. Our leasing office notified us that they needed a 60 day notice, which had passed and we would therefore have to pay through the end of August. However, I was out of town when this was discussed with my roommate so we did not both give written notice until today ( July 2nd). The leasing office is now claiming that the 60 day notice is for two full rental periods, meaning we would have to pay through the end of September, even though 60 days from today is August 31st? This seems a little ridiculous to me.
    Do you know if 30, 60, 90 ect day notices are counted by renal periods or by actual days? Thanks

  • Samantha F

    I have a lengthy question could I email you?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Samantha,

      I’ll be glad to answer it here. Try your best to get it down to 1000 characters. :)

      • Samantha F

        My husband, kids, & I decided to move out of our rental in mid April due to finances. We never had a contract or any sort of written agreement what so ever (only some stuff thru email). We told the landlord we would try to be out May 1st but couldn’t do it. On May 4th I advised the landlord we where mainly out but a few of my husbands things where still in the house (all utilities still in my name). She knew he was only a couple minutes away & she proceeded to go into the house & move his stuff out of the house to the driveway. When he got there she was gone and he noticed some of his stuff was still in the house. So he unlocked the back door, through a broke window (from the previous tenants) and went in & got the rest of his stuff. Anyways she found out he went into the house & called the cops & had him arrested for breaking & entering & theft. So with nothing in actual writing & less than 2 weeks to move out, & it being his belongings did she technically have a right to do that?

        • Lucas Hall

          Hi Samantha,

          It does seem a bit bold, and a reasonable landlord wouldn’t have done that. But I can’t really give you any legal advice. If charges are being pressed against your husband, you should really talk to a lawyer.

  • Andy Velasquez

    My family is moving to KS from CA and LL lives in TX I have signed a lease 2weeks ago i had a verbal agreement before signing the lease that i could send the deposit and they would remove the listing (they have not) also that i could send them the rent in cashiers check but allowing us to move in right away because we were moving from out of state. We have found that we will not have the funds to move i have contacted the LL and informed them but they are telling me that i am liable for the full year lease. if they never stopped listing then they have not lost anytime finding a tenant i know that i wont get my deposit back but if i havent even moved in and they havent lost time am i liable for the year.

  • Shea

    When I signed the lease with my landlord back in Dec we agreed in writing when summer hits they would see if the central air system worked. Because it does not, the agreed upon solution was to update or install new window units. One was kept (sml BR) and the other replaced with a new unit (living room). Unfortunately, both do not reach important areas of this 2BR duplex: the kitchen, bathroom, and master bedroom. The master BR is where we would like a unit but the landlord is saying that installing one would be too expensive because a wall would have to be partially knocked out. While I understand this, I also feel that he is not holding up his end of the agreement. Any suggestions as to what I should do?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Shea,

      If you can show that his lack of actions is a “lease violation” then you could potentially terminate the lease if he doesn’t honor it. But please talk to a lawyer before you do (which I am not)

  • carol

    how long does a landlord have to fix the ac in my home it will be a week tomarrow

  • Jl

    Our child died this last week. The apartment was a lease. We have a key and we are emergency contact on lease. There is no will. Can we go into the apartment to get her things? What happens to the lease.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Jl

      I’m so sorry for your lost. I know you must be going through a lot of pain right now.

      Generally speaking, the lease is transferred to the estate of the deceased. The estate must continue to pay rent or convince the landlord to terminate it. My suggestion would be to stay in close contact with the landlord, and work things out respectfully.

  • Jill

    I read in Kansas a landlord can charge first and Last months rent plus deposit. I was told from someone they cant in Lawrence. Is this a State law or do cites make different rules?

    Thank you for your time

  • Tabby

    I’m a landlord in Kansas & I have a tenant that wants to break their lease. It states in my lease they can break it w/30 days written & verbal notice plus 3 months rent or whatever is allowable by law whichever is less. She is doing things as she should for the most part, but I’m not very happy with the situation. Needless to say we do a year contract & we will be missing out on 5 months rent. Im not giving her the option to find someone to cover the lease since my husband & I decided we were going to sell it. What I want to know is do we have to give back her deposit since she is breaking the lease, and we will only be getting 3 months of the rent instead of the 5 months owed?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Tabby,

      If she is breaking the lease according to the terms in the lease, then her debt is satisfied. A landlord can only really keep a deposit for actual damages. If her debt is satisfied, then what legitimate claim do you have on her deposit?

      If 3 month’s rent is what you agreed to in the lease as an adequate payment for breaking the lease, then it doesn’t really matter whether there was 5 months left, or 10 months left. She’s breaking the lease according to the terms, so unless there is unpaid rent, or excessive physical damages, why would you be able to keep the deposit? Would you be able to validate the withholding with actual receipts to a Judge?

      I hope that helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • April R

    My friend just moved into an apartment and the Landlord pushed his move in date back 5 days then said he could move in but never completed the walkthrough movein sheet. There are several things wrong with the apartment that need immediate attention. It has been 2 weeks since my friend has moved in but he still hasnt been able to get the landlord to come out and check out the problem areas. My friend wants to know if he could legally null the lease since the landlord hasn’t followed procedure.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi April,

      I would suggest that your friend complete his own walk-through, and turn in the sheet to the landlord anyway. Also, he should use pictures or a video to document it.

      I can’t tell you whether or not the lease would be null, but typically if one party is violating the lease somehow, the other party would have to send a “X day notice to remedy or quit” before that party can terminate the lease. If he does want to terminate it, he should talk to a lawyer.

      Good luck to you and him. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • eddie

    can a land lord add a fee for no proof of renters insurance without notice

  • david

    I know we probably don’t have much ground to stand on but here is our situation.
    When we moved in we were told that pets were allowed just notify them if we get one and there will be a pet deposit and a increase in our rent. The contract states that pets must be okayed by the landlord which a property management group. We recently purchased a english bulldog thinking that a simple call to let them know we now have a dog we were told that dogs are not allowed.
    So my question is should the contract state that dogs were not allowed?
    of course we now have to move.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi David

      Generally speaking, the lease must specifically state that pets are not allowed in order for the prohibition to be enforceable. They can’t just make up rules like that without putting them in the contract. I would even suggest that you could challenge their mandate to move – because you haven’t done anything wrong according to the lease. But please, talk to a lawyer before holding your ground. I’m not a lawyer nor is this legal advice.

  • Vince

    My wife and I own several rental property’s and we have received an offer on one of them that is really too good to pass up. The current lease that we have with the tenants in that home is about 6 months into a 12 month lease and we have no specific provision in the lease for selling the property. What are our obligations to our tenants and what is the proper way to handle a sale? And should we have provisions in our leases for sales? This has not been an issue for us in the past. Thank you.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Vince,

      Congrats on the offer. An owner can sell a house at any time without it affecting the lease. The lease will just continue with the new owner. However, the new owner will have to honor the original terms, and let the tenants finish out their lease if that is their wish.

      Personally, I have a provision in my lease that says I can terminate a lease with 45 days notice upon the ratification of a sales contract. But without that clause, I wouldn’t have any recourse to terminate the lease early. I don’t sell a lot of houses, but it comes in handy when I do.

      Here’s a related podcast: https://www.landlordology.com/ask-lucas/006-lease-termination-at-sale-of-property/

      I hope that helps. Please know that I’m not a lawyer, nor is this legal advice.

  • Kim Robertson

    We had a lease to own agreement. The tenants did not pay 3 months rent and we had them legally evicted. We allowed them reasonable time to gather personal belongings during the 30 day process. They trashed the house. We’ve had to pay for repair, paint, and to have much trash hauled off. We lost about $13,000. The former tenant was a teacher who was fired last spring. My question is: Should I sue or am I just going to lose more money? By the way I am not a landlord.
    Thanks for any help,
    Kim

    • Lucas Hall

      HI Kim

      Only a lawyer can accurately present you with your chances of success.

      If I were in your shoes, I would certainly attempt to win a judgment for the debt. Even if the tenant doesn’t have the money now, a judgement is good for many years and I might be able to collect or garnish on it later.

      For $13,000, it would be wise to talk to a lawyer (which I am not)

  • Edwin Bardales

    Made the payment for the security deposit but two days later we decided that we don’t wanna live there anymore.. and the moving date is not until the end of September.. can we get the security deposit back?.

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Edwin

      Maybe, but maybe not. It just depends on if the landlord has any damages because you backed out. Usually, the deposit you provide before signing a lease is the collateral in case you back out.

  • Jim

    Hello, I rented my home last november. In january i notified the landlord that my bathtub was falling and showed him . Then again a couple different times i notified them about the tub and asked them to have the air conditioning serviced. I take care of two cancer patients. Is there anyway i can make them o the repairs or can i withhold my rent until the repairs are made ?

  • Kim Rayton

    I moved into another place with same landlord how long do I have to get my stuff out old house. And can he charge me rent of Aug at the old place because I haven’t got everything out yet?

    • Lucas Hall

      Hi Kim

      You would have until the lease on the previous unit expires. If it was terminated and a new lease created with the new unit, then you better hurry up. It’s not okay to occupy two units with your possessions, yet only pay rent on one unit.

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available. Be short, sweet and to the point.