California Rental Laws

Written on April 22, 2013 by , updated on April 11, 2019

State Flag of CaliforniaThis article summarizes some key California rental laws applicable to residential rental units.

We’ve used the Official State Statutes and other online sources cited below to research this information and it should be a good starting point in learning about the law.

With that said, our summary is not intended to be exhaustive or a substitute for qualified legal advice. Laws and statutes are always subject to change, and may even vary from county to county or city to city.

You are responsible for performing your own research and complying with all laws applicable to your unique situation.

If you have legal questions or concerns, we recommend consulting with the appropriate government agencies and/or a qualified lawyer in your area. Your local or state bar association may have a referral service that can help you find a lawyer with experience in landlord-tenant law.

Official Rules and Regulations

Details:

Security Deposit:

  • Security Deposit Maximum: Two months rent for unfurnished dwellings; 3 months rent if furnished dwellings. (Civ. Code §§ 1950.5)
  • Security Deposit Interest: No statewide statute, but 15 (or so) localities have rent control ordinances that require you to pay interest, including cities in the San Francisco Bay Area and Los Angeles (reference).
  • Separate Security Deposit Bank Account: No Statute
  • Non-Refundable Fees: Not Allowed (Civ. Code §§ 1950.5m)
  • Deadline for Returning Security Deposit: 21 days (Civ. Code §§ 1950.5g)
  • Security Deposit can be Withheld: (handbook) California law allows landlords to withhold a portion, or all, of a security deposit for four reasons: 1) unpaid rent; 2) to clean the rental unit after the tenant moves out, but only to make the unit as clean as it was when the tenant first moved in; 3) to repair of damages beyond normal wear and tear, and; 4) to pay the cost of resorting or replacing furniture, furnishings, and other personal property damage beyond normal wear and tear. The lease or rental agreement must specify that the security deposit can be used to pay these costs.
  • Require Written Description/Itemized List of Damages and Charges: Yes. If repairs and cleaning costs are less than $126, receipts and documentation are not needed to accompany the itemized list. (Civ. Code §§ 1950.5g 4A)
  • Record Keeping of Deposit Withholdings: No Statute
  • Failure to Comply: A bad faith claim or retention by a landlord may subject the landlord to statutory damages of up to twice the amount of the security deposit, in addition to actual damages. (Civ. Code §§ 1950.5(l))

Lease, Rent & Fees:

  • Rent is Due: Unless there is a contract to the contrary, and the lease is for less than one year, rent is due at the end of the month. Most leases state that rent is due at the beginning of the month. (Civ. Code §§ 1947)
  • Payment Methods: Landlord must allow the tenant to pay rent using a form of payment that is not a cash payment or an electronic funds transfer payment. If the tenant had an insufficient funds payment or a stopped payment on a money order, the landlord can then require that rent be paid in cash. (Civ. Code §§ 1947.3(1-2))
  • Rent Increase Notice: 30 days if rent increase is less than 10 percent of the lowest amount of rent charged during the last 12 months. 60 days notice if rent increase is more than 10 percent of the lowest amount of rent charged during the last 12 months. (Civ. Code §§ 827(b)(2-3))
  • Late Fees: Late fees are allowed, but they must be “reasonable” and obey rent control laws, and are only enforceable if specified in the lease. (handbook)
  • Application Fees: The maximum fee is adjusted each year based on changes in the Consumer Price Index since January 1, 1998. The application fee cannot exceed $30. (Civ. Code §§ 1950.6(b))
  • Prepaid Rent: The landlord is allowed to collect one month’s pre-paid rent (first month’s rent) plus two or three months’ security deposit. (handbook)
  • Returned Check Fees: The landlord can charge a fee equal to the actual bank fee or a flat “service” fee which is $25 for the first occurrence, and $35 for each occurrence thereafter (handbook).
  • Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): Yes, because the property is under the “implied warranty of habitability.” (handbook)
  • Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: Yes, but not more than the cost of one month’s rent, and the tenant cannot use this remedy more than twice in a 12-month period. (Civ. Code §§ 1942(a))
  • Landlord Allowed to Recover Court and Attorney’s Fees: Yes (Civ. Code §§ 789.3d)
  • Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages to Lessee, including an Attempt to Re-rent: Yes (Civ. Code §§ 1951.2)

Notices and Entry:

  • Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Fixed End Date in LeaseNo notice is needed as the lease simply expires. I recommend giving 60 days notice.
  • Notice to Terminate Any Periodic Lease of a Year or More: If ALL tenants have lived there longer than a year, the landlord is required to give 60 days notice. (handbook)
  • Notice to Terminate a Periodic Lease – Month-to-Month: The landlord is required to give 30 days notice. The tenant is required to give 30 days notice. (Civ. Code §§ 1946)
  • Notice to Terminate a Periodic Lease – Week-to-week: Landlord is required to give 30 days notice. Tenant is required to give seven days notice. (handbook)
  • Notice to Terminate Lease due to Sale of Property: For periodic tenancies only (example: month-to-month), 30 days notice is sufficient if ALL the following are true:
    1. The landlord has contracted to sell the rental unit to another person who intends to occupy it for at least a year after the tenancy ends.
    2. The landlord opened an escrow account with a licensed escrow agent or real estate broker, and
    3. The landlord gives 30-day notice within 120 days of opening the escrow account, and
    4. The landlord must not previously have given the tenant a 30-day or 60-day notice, and
    5. The rental unit must be one that can be sold separately from any other dwelling unit. (For example, a house or a condominium can be sold separately from another dwelling unit.)(Civ. Code §§ 1946.1) (handbook)

    Note: A landlord can only end a periodic tenancy when the property or rental unit is sold, and not a fixed-term tenancy that has not yet expired.

  • Notice of date/time of Move-Out Inspection: 48 hours (Civ. Code §§ 1950.5(f))
  • Eviction Notice for Nonpayment: Three days (Civ. Procedure Code §§ 1161(2))
  • Eviction Notice for Lease Violation: The tenant has three days to remedy the lease violation or landlord can file eviction. If the violation has not been corrected by that time, the landlord can file for eviction. The landlord can also terminate the lease for subletting without permission or due to illegal activity happening on the premise. (Civ. Procedure Code §§ 1161(3) and Civ. Procedure Code §§ 1161(4)
  • Required Notice before Entry: 24 hours (Civ. Code §§ 1954a)
  • Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs (non-emergency): 24 hours (Civ. Code §§ 1954a)
  • Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes (Civ. Code §§ 1954b)
  • Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: No (Civ. Code §§ 1954)
  • Notice to Tenants for Pesticide Use: No Statute
  • Lockouts Allowed: No (Civ. Code §§ 789.3b(1))
  • Utility Shut-offs Allowed: No (Civ. Code §§ 789.3a)

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes:

  • Bed Bugs:
    • A landlord shall not show, rent, or lease any vacant dwelling unit to a prospective tenant if the landlord knows the unit has a current bed bug infestation. (Civ. Code §§ 1954.602)
    • A landlord shall provide a written notice regarding information about bed bugs to the prospective tenant. The exact language and information can be found in Civ. Code §§ 1954.603.
    • Landlords must notify tenants about the procedure for reporting suspected infestations to the landlord. (Civ. Code §§ 1954.603(a))
    • Landlords are required to conduct follow up treatment not only of infected units, but all surrounding units until bed bugs are eliminated. (Civ. Code §§ 1954.604)
    • Landlords are required to notify tenants within two business days of receiving the pest control operator’s findings after an inspection. (Civ. Code §§ 1954.605)
  • Accepting First Qualified Applicant – The 2012 Fair Housing Handbook of California says on page 24, “The landlord should take the time to check out the information and make a selection based on the first qualified applicant(s),” although there is no statute to support this. It’s recommended, but not law.
  • Copy of Lease: The landlord must provide a copy of the rental agreement or lease to the tenant within 15 days of its execution by the tenant. (Civ. Code §§ 1962(4))
  • Utilities: Landlord must disclose if the utilities that service tenant’s unit also service other areas (such as common foyers), and disclose the manner in which costs will be fairly divided up. The landlord must also provide a formula for dividing up utilities when utilities are split among multiple tenants. (Civ. Code §§ 1940.9)
  • San Francisco Utilities: Landlords must provide heat that can maintain a room temperature of 68 degrees. This level of heat must be provided for at least 13 hours, specifically from 5-11 AM and 3-10 PM.
  • Move-In Condition: Landlord is not required to provide a Move-In Condition Checklist for the Tenants to complete. However, it is recommended and extremely helpful should you ever go to court over physical damages to the dwelling.
  • Mold: Landlord must disclose, prior to lease signing, knowledge of any mold in the dwelling that exceeds safety limits or poses a health concern. Landlord must distribute a State Department of Health Services consumer handbook once it is developed and approved. (Health & Safety Code §§ 26147 and Civ. Code §§ 1941.7)
  • Demolishment: If a landlord or agent has applied for a permit to demolish a rental unit, the landlord must provide written notice to prospective tenants before accepting any money. (Civ. Code §§ 1940.6)
  • Ordnances: Landlord must disclose the locations of former ordnances (weapons and artillery) in the neighborhood. (Civ. Code §§ 1940.7)
  • Sexual Offenders: Landlords are required to include the following language in the lease: “Notice: Pursuant to Section 290.46 of the Penal Code, information about specified registered sex offenders is made available to the public via an Internet Web site maintained by the Department of Justice at www.meganslaw.ca.gov. Depending on an offender’s criminal history, this information will include either the address at which the offender resides or the community of residence and zip code in which he or she resides.” (Civ. Code §§ 2079.10a)
  • Pest Disclosures: At lease signing, the landlord must disclose any pest control contracts or disclosures received by pest control companies. If the premise is being treated for pests, landlord must disclose the pesticides used and their active ingredients, as well as any warnings associated with them. (Civ. Code §§ 1940.8, and Business and Professional Code §§ 8538)
  • Smoking: If the landlord limits or prohibits smoking, the landlord must include a clause that specifies the areas on or in the premise where smoking is prohibited. (Civ. Code §§ 1947.5) (Guide: How Landlords can Prohibit Smoking)
  • Proof of Domestic Violence Status: Landlord is entitled to proof/documentation of domestic violence status of the tenant if the tenant claims they are a victim of domestic violence. (Civ. Code §§ 1941.5, 1941.6, 1941.7)
  • Locks: Landlords must change the locks if requested by a domestic violence victim and proof of court order is given. (Civ. Code §§ 1941.5 and 1941.6)
  • Special Treatment: A victim may terminate a lease with 14 days notice and proof of victim status. (Civ. Code §§ 1946.7(d)) A landlord cannot end or refuse to renew a tenancy based upon the fact that the tenant or a member of tenant’s household is a victim of a documented act of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking. (Civ. Procedure Code §§ 1161.3)
  • Abandoned Property: The rules are lengthy and specific, please read Civ. Code §§ 1965, 1980 to 1991.
  • Retaliation: Landlords may not terminate a lease, increase rent, decrease services, cause a lessee to quit involuntarily, or bring an action to recover possession to a tenant who has filed an official complaint to a Government Authority, been involved in a tenant’s organization, or exercised a legal right. Courts will assume “retaliation” by landlord if negative action is taken on the tenant within 180 days (six months) after any of the prior tenant actions (Civ. Code §§ 1942.5). If a tenant has provided notice of a suspected bed bug infestation, or has made an oral complaint to the lessor regarding tenantability (Civ. Code §§ 1942.5(1)). It will also be considered retaliation if the landlord acts negatively within six months after any of the following:
    • Using the repair and deduct remedy, or telling the landlord that the tenant will use the repair and deduct remedy.
    • Complaining about the condition of the rental unit to the landlord, or to an appropriate public agency after giving the landlord notice.
    • Filing a lawsuit or beginning arbitration based on the condition of the rental unit.
    • Causing an appropriate public agency to inspect the rental unit or to issue a citation to the landlord.

Court Related:

Business Licenses:

  • Business License required: No statewide statute, but local cities and counties may have regulations and requirements. Check with your local governing authority.
  • Daly City requires all property managers or landlords/owners who do not live in a shared rental to get a business license (§ 5.16.050(a))

State agencies & regulatory bodies

Housing Authorities

Realtor and landlord/tenant associations

Helpful Videos

Get our free newsletter

Join 200,000+ landlords

  • ​Tips to increase income
  • Time-saving techniques
  • ​Powerful tools & resources
Topics:
  Laws & Regulations

2,480 CommentsLeave a Comment

  • Jene

    I live in a rent-controlled unit, and have a question, my landlord wants to raise my rent by 10% only because my boyfriend is living with me, however my BF has been living with me for 5 years now and the only reason why my landlord is doing this is because he says he can get 500-700 more for my unit now, is this legal?

    • Mary

      A landlord can raise the rent as they see fit in accordance with law. You would need to check your local rent control laws.

  • Rosie

    I have inherited a four-plex, one of the tenants has changed the locks and refuses to give me copies of the keys stating he believes he doesn’t have to. I’m in Los Angeles County and want to know what Civ. Code this would fall under so I can inform him fully what his rights are and are not.
    Please help! :)
    Thanks!
    Rosie

    • Mary

      I don’t think they are required to give you a key unless it is specified in the lease. All my leases have a clause that the tenant can change the locks but must provide me with a key.
      It is highly recommended for the landlord to have a key for emergencies and maintenance purposes. Of course a landlord cannot enter without permission or sufficient notice.
      Also, it would be a good idea to put new agreements in place since there is a change in ownership/landlord.

  • Suzanne

    Is it legal to ask my current tenant where they see themselves in 6 months? In other words, can I ask how long they see themselves living in the condo? I’m following San Francisco rental laws and codes but not finding anything regarding legal “inquiry”.

    The answer will help me plan for my future investments as I will be retiring soon and may either move in or sell the unit. Laws do not permit me to evict if I choose to sell or live there for less than 3 years. But it’s nearly impossible to sell an occupied unit at fair market value.

    The lease is now month to month.

    • Mary

      I think you can ask how long a tenant plans to rent the unit.
      Since the lease is month to month, you can end tenancy with proper andvanced written notice.
      For new leases you can specify an end date, make sure a new tenant knows the end date is firm
      – just be up front and clear of your intentions.

  • Samantha

    We requested to end our lease 2months early. The end date would be April 30. We paid full month of April and they were able to get a new tentant to move in April 21st. Would we be entitled to any prorated rent for the rent of April we paid? Also we have the home cleaned and requested a walkthrough several times and the landlord didn’t want to schedule one but now says he wants a cleaning fee. Not to mention last month we were without hot water for a week while it was being fixed. What are our rights as a tenant?

    • Mary

      Not sure of the terms of the new tenant’s lease so not sure if you are entitled to any prorated rent back. I don’t think Landlords are supposed to double collect on rent though. You did break the lease early so you’re lucky a tenant was found so you didn’t have to pay for those months. You should have been given the walkthrough. Do you have a receipt for the cleaning? Provide a copy to the landlord.
      As for the hot water – you probably should have dealt with that and negotiated rent reduction then.

  • Samantha

    We requested to end our lease 2months early. The end date would be April 30. We paid full month of April and they were able to get a new tentant to move in April 21st. Would we be entitled to any prorated rent for the rent of April we paid? Also we have the home cleaned and requested a walkthrough several times and the landlord didn’t want to schedule one but now says he wants a cleaning fee. What are our rights as a tenant?

  • Samantha

    We requested to end our lease 2months early. The end date would be April 30. We paid full month of April and they were able to get a new tentant to move in April 21st. Would we be entitled to any prorated rent for the rent of April we paid? What are our rights as a tenant?

  • Samantha

    If we paid the full month rent and a new tenant starts in the middle are we entitled to any prorated rent?

    • Mia

      Not if you are required to give a 30-day notice, which should be stated in your lease agreement. You are responsible for paying your final 30 days even if the unit is being used again in those 30 days. Hope that helps.

      • Amy

        That is not true in California (or Nevada)… Renters are not responsible for paying any part of a lease that overlaps with a new tenants lease.

  • annalise

    We own some units in San Bernardino, one of our tenant is suing us, they never complained about anything.
    Our son is the manager and he has never been told about it, like mold and an unstrapped water heater. We have had these units for 20 years, never any problems. Before suing is a tenant suppose to complain in writing?

    • Mary

      They should – as to provide proof they notified the landlord. What does your attorney say? Why wasn’t your water heater strapped? Nothing was ever noticed during maintenance calls? No inspections were ever performed?

      • annalise parent

        Thanks you so much Mary for answering my question. We are in the process of looking for an attorney. They have been in the unit since 2013 and we did put in a new water heater, we did not know that there wasn’t a strap on it. We did not have an inspection but some maintenance have been done and never any complaints. Annalise Parent

        • Mary

          For the future make sure all your units are to code (water heater strapped, smoke detectors in every bedroom and in the hallways autism the bedrooms and well as a CO2 detector in the hallway). Ensure that you use all disclosures required when new leases are signed. For starters. And document everything.

  • carol

    2/2 rental is in Hermosa Beach, LA County – some people coming by soon said they are retired. What am i allowed to ask for to verify income. They won’t have any pay-stubs. I will still do the normal cr ck, background, and eviction check.
    thanks

  • RL

    California question (and I have called EVERYONE):

    Notorious property management

    Twice yearly ‘inspection’.

    36 hour notice, yes.
    Used to be scheduled for 9-12, ONE DAY

    Now scheduled 9 – 3pm, OVER TWO SUBSEQUENT DAYS.

    I was robbed of over $5000 in items by a property management hire. I was told by them “We are NOT responsible to whom we give keys”, so I now will only be here when someone enters.

    And I must NOW miss up to 12 hours of work, waiting, over 2 days.

    Legal? This company’s practices are WELL known. We got stuck with them by an owner who did no due-diligence.

    Thank you

  • Linda mann

    I’ve been living with boyfriend for 5 1/2 months. I’m not on the lease. He left & said I could stay until rent up. Landlord wants to gave me arrested for breaking in. SZys I must leave now. I get mail here & I have keys. What to do. I can’t get out by morning. Do I get arrested?

    • Mary

      You get mail there? They shouldn’t be able to arrest you. They should have to evict you. You should do what you can to vacate as soon as possible.

      • Linda

        Thank you so much. I am doing everything I can to get out if here. Having a hard time finding a place for me. Being 65 and handicapped, it is just too hard on me live on the streets.

  • Ron

    Lease says landlord to give me garage door opener, 2 condo keys, entrance gate opener, key to gate to walk out of complex, pool gate key, mail box key. Moved in 2 weeks ago and she has not given me any of these. She won’t give me 2nd door key and locksmiths said I can’t duplicate it without her written permission. I made written demand to provide the above ( plus deadbolt keys) within 5 days. Can I deduct my costs to buy these items from rent or am I limited to small claims court?

    Oh, days before moving in notified her that garbage disposal is rusted frozen and won’t drain and 2nd bathroom toilet won’t flush and had to turn off water to the tank. I recently demanded she repair within 30 days or I will repair and deduct.

  • Krystal

    I am a tenant, I moved in with a promotional move in special, the landlord offered one month free rent, and a credit card with $500. Two days ago the office manager said to me that my card was still in my file, after receiving it I realized it was expired. The agreement they had with the credit card company is when the card expired the money was no longer available and could not be renewed. The manager shrugged and basically told me I was out of luck, they would not get another one. Is this legal? I feel they should have made sure to give me the card at the time I moved in, not only once it expired. Shouldn’t the office replace this card as per our move in agreement?

    • Mary

      Verbal agreements are valid, however, is this agreement in writing? Does it say anything about expiration dates? Were expiration dates verbally explained or inferred?

      • Krystal

        Hi Mary, I will have to double check my lease agreement. It was done online which makes it difficult to read over. However I know I was never informed of any expiration date. I went into the office and called the credit card company with the manager and she found out at that time about the card not being able to be renewed if expired. She was surprised and asked to speak to a supervisor that informed her it was in the contract. She seemed surprised and explained to the supervisor that they bought thousands of dollars of credit cards. She hung up and said she would look into it but as it stood it looked as though was not getting the card after all. She said “they’re not going to buy another to replace it”.

        • Mary

          That’s really a bummer. Was this one of the reasons you rented that particular units? If you want to peruse legal action you would need to consult an attorney.

  • Jackie

    A friend and I moved into a house in Hayward CA. with the lease for one year. Now the lease is up and I gave 30 day notice to be removed from the lease , and move out. The management is saying that the only way that I will be removed from the lease, is by replacing my self with a qualified person, then they would remove me from the lease, because we moved in as a group, and I was still on the lease and responsible for the house, but the year is up the lease is up, the other person doesn’t want to move, but they say that if I don’t replace myself the other person has to move. I feel like I’m being threatened

    • Michael

      If you did everything according to Lease Agreement and a 30 days notice, you are no longer obligated to stay or find a replacement. Keep all of documents for proof in case of court appearance.

  • Sergio

    I has question? Recently I live 1 yrs apt now and we sign renew lease. Later I found out she want break up and kick out apt? I want transfer my name to same apartment with roommate. I wonder if allow? I need California law code!!!!

    • Mary

      That is something you will need to negotiate with your landlord. Hopefully, it won’t be an issue because you’re not actually vacating.

  • Arturo

    I live in Southern California. I have an 11 month lease agreement. Can my landlord enforce a rule for us to give them a 60 day notice of intent to leave? Do we have to give them a notice at all (earlier in this article it mentions: Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Fixed End Date in Lease: No notice is needed as the lease simply expires. I recommend giving 60 days notice anyway. )

    If we signed to it on the lease, can they legally enforce it? Our lease does have a fixed end date.

    • Mary

      You would need to check all the terms of your lease. If it specifies that you are required to give notice (even if a fixed term), then you need to give notice.
      Example – my leases are for 1 year that automatically convert to a month to month if rent is paid and then 30-days notice is required. I have an additional provision that a written 30-day notice is required to vacate even if they plan to vacate on the final day of their lease.

  • Gina

    My situation is tricky. I am a renter and sublet a room to someone. Due to changes in property management, I could no longer sublet to him, so I gave him 60 days’ notice. Move out date was 5/4. He moved his stuff out 5/4 and cleaned his share of the place by midnight on 5/4. He still has painting & repairs to do and left some things in the backyard. He said he would be by 5/5 to do that. He didn’t come by and said he would take care of it 5/6. It is end of the day 5/6 and I already had an appt. with a locksmith to come and rekey. I thought he would be completely done & out by now.

    Questions:
    Up to what date do I charge him rent?
    At what point do I say: Instead of waiting on him to do the repairs, I hire someone and deduct from deposit?

  • mina

    lived in the unit for 19 years, I gave 30 days notice to vacate now landlord wants full access to my unit to start remodeling, what are my option?

  • Roberta Eriksen

    Inland Empire renter:
    We have lived in this house for over 6 years. Originally we signed a one year lease and then again the next two years, but none since then (they know we were staying and paying on time so they were happy with us) They just text us saying they were thinking about selling the house. Of course they offered it to us but we are not in the position to buy at this time. My questions: Someone told me we should be compensated for having to move out because they’re selling it…is that true and if so how much? Also how much time do they have to give us to move? Also what is considered normal wear and tear after 6 years of living there? They didn’t replace the carpet when we moved in and it needs it now.
    Thank you for your help

    • Mary

      Because your lease has expired and on month-to-month they just need to provide you with proper notification. I can get that together for you if you like. (I usually source my info but it’s been down lately).
      Compensation comes into play when there is a lease with defined terms.

  • luppita

    Do I have to add my spouse on my rental lease? I don’t see anything on my agreement that says anything about spouse. I’ve been living in the same apartment complex for 3 years…married. No issues until now. Is there some law that can clarify?

    • Mary

      You should have every person over the age of 18 names on the rental agreement. Minors can be listed as minor children.

  • Anna

    I just purchased a single family home and would like to rent out the spare room. I am a female in my mid-twenties. I posted the ad on a couple websites and received responses from people I definitely don’t want to live with (40 year old men for one example). I don’t want some crazy money hungry person to file a suit against me claiming I didn’t respond their message and am violating fair housing laws. The laws seemed unclear about owner occupied buildings, I should have every right to choose who I want to live with. I’d like to know my rights or if someone does threaten me.Or any advice on how to politely turn down responses (currently I’m just not responding if the person doesn’t seem like the kind of roommate I’m looking for).

  • Kathie

    Any advice on bringing a person to court that has stopped paying “rent” for parking his vehicles and using my sea container for storing his equiptment. This is on my personal residential property but unattached to my home. We had made a verbal agreement 4 years prior and I offered a simple receipt for his time i credited toward monthly balance and his payments he made which slowed and now have stopped. It’s been month’s since any communication or payment. I would gladly offer him all the the protection of a landlord, and any time he needs to vacate or even start catching up on the thousands of dollars he’s behind. Is there a recommendation to proceed? He is a non occupying “payer”? “renter”?? thank you for any time you afford me

  • Anthony Velez

    HEY,
    Having an issue where i currently rent. I live in Port Hueneme in Ventura county. the HOA is renovating the pipes in all the units in which they are responsible i got a letter from the guy i pay my rent to and it said that we need to vacate for 3 weeks while the repairs are being done. i havent contacted the landlord yet but there is no way i can pay the rent and pay for a hotel at the same time. The HOA also stated that if we dont vacate that we need to pay fees and if anything is stolen, broken, ect that they are not responsible. what should i do?

    • Mary

      First – what does your lease say in regards to this type of work? The landlord may be responsible.
      Second – do you have renter’s insurance? You should carry a policy. They’re inexpensive and usually cover this type of thing.

  • Shane Morgan

    I had a 3month lease explicitly discussed with landlord to convalesce during and after cancer and back surgery. Not knowing the 30day notice requirements to terminate, I verbally requested a 30day extension of my lease to accommodate an updated surgery schedule. Additionally i had requested repairs to the entry door to the unit as it required extreme force to open and close, something I struggled with before surgery and knew I wouldn’t be able to operate the door after surgery. On the last day the original lease expired I had not received confirmation my lease would be extended by 30 days nor were door repairs made as requested so I secured another unit elsewhere to see out my recovery. Am I liable for lease break charges?

  • Mark

    If the termination date on a residential lease is incorrect and states the lease is technically already over, would this void the lease and hold up if I tried to use it as a means to break the lease? The full extent of the lease period is only printed once in the lease and the remainder of the agreement always refers back to this incorrect date. Thank You! -Mark

    • Mary

      Typically they automatically convert month-to-month. You want to break the lease? What is the reasoning?

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available. Be short, sweet and to the point.