This article summarizes some key Nevada Landlord-Tenant laws applicable to residential rental units.
We’ve used the Official State Statutes and other online sources cited below to research this information and it should be a good starting point in learning about the law.
With that said, our summary is not intended to be exhaustive or a substitute for qualified legal advice. Laws and statutes are always subject to change, and may even vary from county to county or city to city.
You are responsible for performing your own research and complying with all laws applicable to your unique situation.
If you have legal questions or concerns, we recommend consulting with the appropriate government agencies and/or a qualified lawyer in your area. Your local or state bar association may have a referral service that can help you find a lawyer with experience in landlord-tenant law.
Nevada has not adopted the Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act (URLTA).
This research and information is current as of November 15, 2012.
Official Rules and Regulations
- Title 10, Chapter 18 – Discrimination in Housing; Landlord and Tenant
- Title 10, Chapter 18A – Landlord and Tenant: Dwellings
- Title 10, Chapter 18B – Landlord and Tenant: Manufactured Home Parks
- Title 10, Chapter 18C – Landlord and Tenant: Commercial Premises
- Title 3, Chapter 40 – Actions and Proceedings in Particular Cases Concerning Property
- Security Deposit Maximum: equal to 3 months of rent (NRS 118A.242(1))
- Security Deposit Interest: No Statute
- Separate Security Deposit Bank Account: No Statute
- Pet Deposits and Additional Fees: No Statute
- Non-Refundable Fees: Landlord must disclose and explain any non-refundable fees (which are allowed for cleaning) in the lease agreement. (NRS 118A.242(8))
- Deadline for Returning Security Deposit: 30 days after lease termination/Tenant moves out (NRS 118A.242(4)(5))
- Require Written Description / Itemized List of Damages and Charges: Yes (NRS 118A.242(4)(5))
- Record Keeping of Deposit Withholdings: No Statute
Lease, Rent & Fees:
- Rent Increase Notice: 45 days or, in the case of any periodic tenancy of less than 1 month, 15 days in advance of the first rental payment to be increased (NRS 118A.300)
- Late Fees: No Statute
- Prepaid Rent: No Statute
- Returned Check Fees: No Statute
- Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services (Water, Heat, etc.): Yes (NRS 118.355)
- Tenant Allowed to Repair and Deduct Rent: Yes (NRS 118.355)
- Landlord Allow to Recover Court and Attorney’s Fees: No Statute
- Landlord Must Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate Damages to Lessee, including an Attempt to Rerent: Yes (NRS 118.175)
- Hold-over converts to Month-to-Month: Yes, unless tenant pays weekly, then it converts to Week-to-Week
Notices and Entry:
- Notice to Terminate a Lease – Yearly Lease: No Statute
- Notice to Terminate a Lease – Month-to-Month: 30 days (NRS 40.251)
- Notice to Terminate a Lease – Week-to-week: 7 days (NRS 40.251)
- Notice of date/time of Move-Out Inspection: No Statute
- Eviction Notice for Nonpayment: 5 days (NRS 40.2512)
- Eviction Notice for Lease Violation: 5 days, but must fix the issue within the first 3 days or Landlord can file for eviction. (NRS 40.2514, NRS 40.2516)
- Required Notice before Entry: 24 hours (NRS 118A.330)
- Entry Allowed with Notice for Maintenance and Repairs (non-emergency): 24 hours (NRS 118A.330)
- Entry Allowed During Tenant’s Extended Absence: No Statute
- Notice to Tenants for Pesticide Use: No Statute
- Emergency Entry Allowed without Notice: Yes (NRS 118A.330)
- Lockouts Allowed: No (NRS 118A.390)
- Utility Shut-offs Allowed: No (NRS 118A.390)
Disclosures and Miscellaneous Rules:
- Tenant has the right to display the flag of the United States of America (NRS 118A.325, NRS 118A.200)
- Landlord must include verbiage in the lease that summarizes the rule NRS 202.470 – Maintaining or permitting nuisance: Penalty (NRS 118A.200)
- Landlord must provide a completed move-in checklist stating the inventory and condition of the dwelling at the time the tenant takes possession. (NRS 118A.200)
- Landlord must inform the Tenant in writing, if the property is subject to a pending foreclosure. (NRS 118A.200)
- Landlord must explain, in the Lease, the conditions upon which the deposit will be refunded. (NRS 118A.200)
- Other than normal wear, the premises will be returned in the same condition as when the tenancy began. (NRS 118A.200)
- Special Protections for Domestic Violence Victims: No Statute
- Examples of retaliation include filing an eviction lawsuit, terminating a tenancy, refuse to renew, increasing the rent, or decreasing services. (NRS 118A.510)
- Retaliation is assumed if the Landlord takes such action after Tenant complains to the landlord about unsafe or illegal living conditions. (NRS 118A.510)
- Retaliation is assumed if the Landlord takes such action after Tenant complains to a government agency, such as a building or health inspector, about unsafe or illegal living conditions. (NRS 118A.510)
- Retaliation is assumed if the Landlord takes such action after a Tenant joins or organizing a tenant union, for the purpose of presenting his/her views. (NRS 118A.510)
- Retaliation is assumed if the Landlord takes such action after Tenant exercises a legal right allowed by your state or local law. (NRS 118A.510)
- Small Claims Court Limits: $7,500 statewide, but some cities are less, check with your local authority.
- Eviction Cases Allowed in Small Claims: No
- Nevada Small Claims Courts:
- Nevada Judiciary System
- Nevada Office of the Attorney General
- Business License required: No state-wide statute, but local cities and counties may have regulations and requirements. Check with your local governing authority.
- Nevada Law Library
- Nevada Division of Insurance
- Nevada State Bar Association
- U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development – Nevada
- Nevada Real Estate Division
- Nevada Association of REALTORS®
- Nevada Law Help
- Legal Aid of Southern Nevada
- Washoe County Legal Services
This is another seminar in the, “Access to Justice” series, presented by local attorneys and sponsored by the Nevada County Superior Court Public Law Center.
Topics: Laws & Regulations